Angkor Wat: Flirting with Ancient Wisdoms [part 1 of 2]

in #writing7 years ago

angkor-wat.jpg

Today I would like to take you on my spiritual journey through the largest religious site in the world: Angkor Wat. Angkor Wat has always been somewhere I've wanted to go but given little time to research. I had no idea what I was about to experience.

But! Before we begin, let's lay down some history bullet points (the story begins with the "Our Morning..." header). Angkor Wat is located here:

Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 12.23.30 PM.png
photo: Google

aaaand for the geographically challenged, let's zoom out just a little bit further 😉

Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 12.24.45 PM.png
photo: Google

History

  • Construction started in the mid 12th century
    • It was dedicated to the Hindu god Vishnu
    • It gradually evolved into a Buddhist city of temples
  • Angkor Wat was almost entirely neglected leading up to and after the 16th century
    • It was never fully abandoned, which helps explain the level of preservation seen today
  • One of the first Western visitors was a Portuguese monk who said the following:

it "is of such extraordinary construction that it is not possible to describe it with a pen, particularly since it is like no other building in the world. It has towers and decoration and all the refinements which the human genius can conceive of."

  • Thankfully, the Khmer Rouge did little to damage the site
  • Thai art thieves stole many of the temple's faces in the 1980's
  • Angkor Wat is a symbol of Cambodian pride. So important, that is is on their national flag

Our morning began before dawn

If we were to capture the legendary Angkor Wat sunrise, then we had to race the clock. Bleary eyed, we stumbled into our tuk tuk. An unregulated belch of diesel fumes coughed the bike to life and we were on our way. Our chariot rattled down the dusty streets of Siem Reap as we made our way to the temple.

Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 12.05.57 PM.png

Excitement and anticipation filled the air. Angkor Wat had always been a dream of mine. I drift off as our tuk tuk bounces us noisily towards our destination. A tuk tuk passes us. Reality slaps me. We won't be the only people there! Another whizzes by. another. and another. three more this time. oh god! I am in the world's slowest tuk tuk. The euphoric waves of excitement leave me and in their void enters anxiety. I'm going to miss the sunrise.

Calm down, I tell myself. You won't miss anything. But everyone is passing you! Ego floods in. You're not going to get the shot you wanted. You're going to miss everything. Clouded by the fog of anxiety and fear, I dash from the tuk tuk as it pulls into the crowd. I make my way towards the pond in front of the temple, brushing past the throngs of encumbered tourists as they lumber slowly towards the rising sun.

angkor.jpg
photo cred: me (unless noted, all photos are mine)

I lock elbows with those around me to stake my territory. I made it! I pause, catching my breath. Laughing to myself, I realize how dramatically expectation can affect one's reality. Here I was, panicked I was going to miss my "perfect" moment.

angkor-wat-2.jpg
the side of the photo often unseen

Take some deep breaths. Letting go of all anger towards the swathes of selfie sticks waving in the air, I realize everyone was here to experience the same thing.

This.

angkor-wat-6.jpg

Ignoring the distractions, the mysteries of the temple begin to flirt with my consciousness. I sense a great depth off in the distance.

Our moment in the sun passes

We decide it is time to do things our way. The temple beckons me deeper. A perfect masterpiece, Angkor Wat is a beautiful combination of Hindu and Buddhist teachings. I wander through the corridors. Bas reliefs are everywhere, telling us stories of the gods and our interactions. An ancient energy beckons. The knowledge and power of a hundred generations briefly flood my consciousness. I reach out, the answers to life's greatest mysteries fill my hands. I grasp, clutching my fist tight, only to find the whispers spilling through my fingers like sand to wind.

angkor127.jpg

As the sand dissipates, I snap back to the physical plane. Let's continue our journey. A quick Insta™ meditation sesh, and we are ready to move on.

angkor1.jpg

Bayon

angkor-wat-4.jpg

On the approach to Bayon I can feel the spirits calling to me again.

I am greeted by a smiling face. I look up. Rows of beautiful smiles are radiating rays of pure love. One by one, each smiling buddha warmly wraps me in his embrace until I feel the weight lift from my feet. On air, I continue my plunge into the ancient world.

angkor-wat-3.jpg

Each face the same, yet distinctly different. Each has a unique story to tell. What stories do you have to tell us, ancient ones? I close my eyes as a rush of unknown wisdoms flood my presence. Ancient energies reveal hidden paths and gateways. I see truths and answers. I balance in limbo. If I focus my gaze on the truths, they escape my sight. I remain calm, trying to catch ahold of these darting mysteries. I see the answers, but I cannot read. An uninterpretable language. Patience, I tell myself.

angkor125.jpg

Back down to the physical plane, I am in awe of the incredible architectural achievement before my eyes. The whispers of Bayon have left me and it is time to venture further into the jungle. Thank you for your wisdoms. I may not understand them today, but they are now within me to study.

Our tuk tuk carries us further

Into the complex we go. Monkeys and ruins line the path as we visit the less traveled temples. Humanity struggles to keep mother nature at bay, but she is patient. The river of time flows on.

angkor126.jpg

angkor-wat-8.jpg

The sun beats down my brow as the fierce elements lash out at me. Even in these winter months, the temperatures can reach sweltering heights.

angkor-wat-15.jpg

Finding some shade, we think it best to pause, relax a bit, and connect to the earth. The Cambodian buds treat me well, and after a quick break we are ready to continue.

angkor-wat-12.jpg

This concludes part one of my story into Angkor Wat. I am a new writer who is still finding my voice. If you enjoyed my piece, please comment and let me know! Anything you'd like to see? Criticism? I welcome all feedback. Have a great day 😋

Sort:  

Nice picture my friend! Very beautiful and I could feel the mysterious and slience there. The religious status was a bit scary.
Are you travel alone there? I wish I could do the same but I heard that Cambodia is a bit dangerous so I hestiate.

Thank you 🤗 Angkor Wat was truly magical. The religious presence was present but not pervasive.
I traveled with my life partner. Solo travel definitely heightens risks, but isn't something out of the realm of possibility to Cambodia. I met several solo travelers while there.

Awesome pics! Really want to visit Angkor Wat some day. Seems like the kind of place that can change a person to some extent.

Of all the places I have been, Angkor Wat was the one to change me the most. The struggle you see between humanity and mother nature (more on this in pt 2) gave me a calming sense of relief. Long after humans leave this planet, mother nature can and will restore to her former glory ✌🏿

What are those pictures nice! And I think you captured a little of the overwhelming feeling of the temples itself. Thanks for sharing of course, an upcote for you!

Nice post, i really like your spiritual thinking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41