My Day at the Higalaay Garden Show and Agri Fair

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Every August, my city holds it's annual Higalaay Festival in honor of the city's patron saint: St. Augustine.


Higalaay means friendship, and our Cagayan de Oro is touted as The City of Golden Friendship. It is tradition to go to church and visit the St. Augustine Cathedral. In front of the cathedral is the Gaston Park where the annual Higalaay Garden Show and Agri Fair is held and where the city showcases the different local produce and those from neighboring towns.


St. Augustine Metropolitan Cathedral, Cagayan de Oro City, Philippines

Since it happens only once a year, I decided to stroll around and check out the fair.

You could see different booths and stalls around the park's oval and they are grouped according to categories.

My first stop was visiting the Garden Show area where a lot of ornamental and agricultural plants and seedlings are showcased. I saw different ornamental plants from cacti to succulents, fruit trees, herbs and vegetable plants. As a gardener myself, nothing excites me seeing the greenery and the lush landscapes.


They call this the Money Tree, will this make my cryptos rise if I buy this? Teehee!

Cacti and succulents for sale which costs over a dollar


Lemons as big as half of a football


Never mind the heat, as long as you can have a selfie with the fruit trees! Lol!

Next stop is the Agri Fair with their the fruits and vegetable booths. Some booths are wonderfully decorated like a wooden hut with hanging fruits and vegetables.



Each hut represents the barangay (district) in the city who participated in the Agri Fair. They decorate the booth as a contest entry


A vegetable booth, the freshest vegetables you can find


Watermelon and mangoes for sale! Excluding me of course! Lol!

Then I chanced upon wooden furniture booth. They produce furniture from a wood called Magkono or what they call "Iron Wood", one of the hardest trees in the world.

Magkono Furniture Shop and their products

A lot of different booths are also present, there are t-shirts, dreamcatchers, dried fishes and many more.

Maybe someday they'll sell Steemit shirts!

This booth sells dried fishes and fermented fish. Anchovies anyone?

I saved the last destination, which is the best by far: the food stalls! LOL!


Snacks all over,
plenty of food to choose from, there are native delicacies, sweet corn and the common Filipino street food.


I already ate breakfast but I got thirsty from walking around so I found a stall who sells different kinds of fruit smoothies. They offer mango, avocado and soursop. I chose the soursop or guyabano in Filipino. The smoothie costs $0.40 each cup. Soursop is very rich in antioxidants and is believed effective in fighting against cancer. Healthy is always the way to go!

I proudly wore my Steemit shirt the whole time and I'm sure people are getting curious because I see a few reading the words on my shirt and caught them staring at it.

With my soursop smoothie


So if you get a chance to travel to my city and experience the Higalaay Festival, better come in August and you will enjoy a lot of festivities and events here!

And as we always say: Laag ta bai! (Let's travel and see places, friend!)

Happy traveling!

Follow me @shellany

Photos taken from a Samsung Galaxy J2 Prime

Sort:  

Nice garden show... which represents garden plants and agricultural produce of the different barangays of the city are displayed by local gardeners at the Gaston Park.

Thank you for appreciating my article. Corrected already, not all are produced by the local gardeners, I have talked to a gardener who came all the way from Davao and the Magkono wood products are from Surigao.

nice naman jan :D

Salamat! :)

You'll have to wait your turn, sir.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shellany from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Ganda pala ng camera ng J2 prime @shellany.

If in adequate light, oo, it's just a matter of lighting din, indoors nahhh better use flash. It was very sunny, mainit talaga hehehe.

Sayang talaga at hindi kami makakapunta ng CDO!!

Soon kabayan, steem on! :)

Fresh foods and fresh views, really relaxing. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70