You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: India - From Chaos to Tranquility

in #travel7 years ago

Nice post! I can relate to quite a lot of this. I especially liked the part about feeling like a celebrity with all the young guys taking selfies with you. I had this experience a number of times in Indonesia when I got away from the well-traveled parts. It's quite surreal.

I once had a group of school children sing a song for me at a temple. It got a bit awkward when they asked me to sing one in return. I had to refuse, since my singing voice has the special ability of causing young children to flee in terror!

Also, Indian food is second to none! I grew up in a city in Canada where there are more Indians than Caucasians (literally), so I've had the good fortune of eating it regularly. I even learned to cook a half-decent curry. Still, I envy you a bit for getting to the source. Living in Germany now, good Indian food is one thing that I miss!

Hampi does seem like a weird and interesting place.

Sort:  

That would have been a pretty awesome experience - one of those ones where you can't really believe it's happening, I'm sure.

Indian food is amazing indeed. But I also love Turkish, Thai and Mexican cuisine (I'm in Mexico right now). I found that the stuff I ate in India was a lot different to any I'd tried while living in Australia or the UK, which is famous for its curry scene.

When I reached Berlin and finished my journey, I found a place that did a chicken biryani. I thought it would be a nice symbolic way to finish the journey by eating the signature dish of Hyderabad where I'd started the journey. It definitely wasn't as good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39