9 Gimmicky Travel Items You Actually DO Want While Traveling

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0980.jpg

Since @shenanigator and I sold all our belongings and are living out of two suitcases each on our @TangerineTravels, there are a few travel items we’ve found to be more useful than anticipated. Some are products we bought, and others are random things around the house that you probably own, too.

1. A Mini Hair Dryer

Please note that if you only plan to stay in hotels, this probably won’t be useful or necessary. If, on the other hand, you plan to rent rooms through Airbnb or at hostels, I highly recommend the Andis 1600-Watt Mini Hair Dryer.

16791143.jpg

It is perhaps the smallest, cutest, and most powerful little hairdryer I’ve ever used. (Much more effective at drying my locks than the large Revlon dryer I used to own.)

This little guy is also more compact than the hair dryers that fold in half. Best part? It only costs about $13 USD.

2. Hair Elastics

Yep, I’m talking about your average ladies ponytail holders. And yes, this is a recommendation for both men and women. For women, there are a few obvious uses. After that, they also come in really handy to close snack bags, keep socks together, and organize electronic cords.

71vng2ddQ7L._SL1500_.jpg

You’ll probably find a few dozen other uses for them while traveling like we have. You can buy a a large pack for a few dollars, making it an inexpensive, small, and mega-useful addition to your bag. I really like Goody 4mm Hair Ties

3. Packing Cubes

When traveling in the past, packing cubes deeefinitely seemed like one of those gimmicky items that might actually get in the way. After selling everything I owned except for what fit into two suitcases, however, they have been a lifesaver for bag organization. It’s nice to know all my shirts/dresses/shorts/etc. are in one place and I don’t need to destroy my whole bag digging for the exact one I want any given time.

Screen Shot 2018-02-21 at 7.47.55 PM.png

I bought JJ POWER Lightweight Travel Packing Cubes in the color tangerine, of course. They are higher quality than I thought and are holding up really well.

4. Not a fan of packing cubes? Try the free option!

You know the clear, plastic zipper bags you get when buying sheets, certain clothes, and other random products? Save ‘em! I was fortunate that my mom had a bunch to saved up and they are uhh-may-zing for holding undies, swimsuits, tights, etc.

IMG_0981.jpg

5. A Collapsible Laundry Bag

By some miracle, the thought to buy something like this came to me before we left. We weren’t totally sure if it would be useful at the time but can definitely confirm that it is now. I’m sure there are lots of options out there, but we both have one of these, and it’s durable, compact, and not too hard on the eyes.

IMG_0985.jpg

I got mine (this one) from Target and haven't found another one like it anywhere else.

6. A Dirty Clothes Bag

I’m currently using another upcycled product for this purpose. It was once a drawstring bag that some linens came in and is the perfect size for 2-3 days worth of clothes. For times when we haven’t been able to visit a lavanderia (laundromat) or throw a load in before going to our next destination, it’s the perfect thing to keep dirty clothes separate from everything else.

7. The Suitcase

If you’re going to be living out of this bag, find one you absolutely love. For me, it’s the Kensie Soft-Sided Luggage Set. They have all the pockets I could ever want (and then some), expandable sides, 360 wheels, and, with bronze accents and patterned interior, the style is snazzier than some. I also prefer the softsided design because I don’t need to have my suitcase open like a filleted fish to get something out—just the top.

IMG_0696.jpg

Jordan prefers Hard-Side Luggage bags because of the durability. If you’re not sure, I recommend going to a few luggage stores to explore what you like and dislike about various brands and styles. When traveling, if you don’t have a durable and functional bag that works for you, what you put inside it is much less important.

8. If You Have a Pet: Lint Rollers

The fur that comes off of our Siberian Husky, Laska, is unbelievable. Seriously, how this dog still has a coat is beyond me.

IMG_0033.jpg

If you also have a dog who drops fur like it’s hot, lint rollers are your best friend. I was against bringing them at first but, Jordan insisted, and I’m glad he did.

9. If You’re Not Sure About the Water Quality: A Berkey

You’re probably thinking, “What the heck is a Berkey?” I said the same thing when Jordan told me about it two years ago. It’s a water filtration device that eliminates fluoride, bacteria, toxins, and other junk from any water that goes through it. Not only is it highly praised online, but it was also verified as the best possible option for removing heavy metals by my naturopathic doctors. (I’m currently dealing with severe mercury poisoning.)

What are your travel "must have" items?

I'd love to hear what things other travelers have found useful and important. Share in the comments below.

Like this post? Follow me @sharingeverybite for more.

Sort:  

Oh! Lol.. I thought it a long post when I saw the title not until I check in.. Nice idea friend

Hey @warudo, just wanted to clarify that I originally posted something from my personal account (this one) when I meant to put it on @tangerinetravels. Since then, I added a different post to this one that I intended to put out on another day.

Oh! Okay buddy..the suitcase is the most important thing for me to have when traveling

I would take 5 hour burning candles , swiss knife, small wanter filter and essential oils when traveling.

Ah yes, essential oils! Almost half of my smaller suitcase is filled with them. They've already saved us from mosquitoes, stomach issues, and some sleep difficulties.

A swiss knife is also a good idea, especially if you're planning to camp. I'm not sure what types of knives are legal here in Mexico, though.

So good that this got $25!

<3

Hey @forexbrokr! It was a huge accident that I posted this Steemit post on my own account instead of @tangerinetravels. Since then, I spent a few hours writing another post that's worthy of that amount. I would not be okay with an accidental/blank post earning that much!!

✌🏻 You’re good.

Did you know you can win SBD by participating in "FIVE WORD STORIES" challenge?!

You can read about the challenge HERE and participate by submitting your story in the comments section of the challenge entries which you can find HERE. You will have the chance to win SBD in this challenge.

I'd be happy to see you around my friend!
NOTE: Your participation is through commenting on the challenge photos I post, not posting photos

Happy Steeming!
5WS_icon copy.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44