SeanyTravels (Japan-Fukuoka) #11 What to eat and NOT eat at an expensive BBQ Restaurant

in #travel6 years ago

We were trying to look for our favourite Gyu-Kaku BBQ meat restaurant in the city, but we got too hungry and couldn't find it, so we went to one just beside the JR Hakata train station. This place is located high up the mall, so you can expect it to be expensive. In general, the higher you go in a mall, the more expensive the food is.

photo6239965767848274045.jpg

We chanced upon this place called Jojoen and our stomachs ruled our minds at that time so we decided to just give it a try.

photo6239965767848274041.jpg

posh looking long menu
photo6239965767848274039.jpg

deliberating which meat to order
photo6239965767848274040.jpg

So in Singapore, when I sometimes order Bak Chor Mee (Minced Meat Noodle), some shops serve it with pork liver. Or even in Bak Kut Teh (check out this recent post by @jessie901220 to learn more about Bak Kut Teh!) where you can order Liver + broth as well. I have eaten it before and I like the taste. I have also heard that eating it in moderation is quite good for health as well. So, when I saw that this restaurant had a Beef Liver BBQ set, I thought, why not?!

oh no....
photo6239965767848274042.jpg

When the plate of raw beef liver arrived, I knew I might have made a mistake. The smell was extremely strong, the colour was so red, and maybe it's hard to see from the picture, but there are 8 LARGE chunks of uncooked liver.

It is my first time eating beef liver, and I must say that this packs an insane punch of liver taste as compared to pork liver. I was definitely not used to it on my first try. I ended up eating 3 and we both managed to finish it all.

Those condiments and sauces on the table did nothing to reduce the raw-packed taste of pure liver goodness. It was definitely an experience for me!

what a dinner! I had to keep drinking water
photo6239965767848274044.jpg

Of course I was not satisfied yet at just eating Liver, so I had to order some quality cuts to fill my stomach, on top of white rice and water.

photo6239965767848274043.jpg

i'm still drinking water, and oh yes I have a bib
photo6239965767848274045.jpg

That night, I fully internalised the words ホルモン (Offal Meat) and will be sure not to overestimate my capabilities in eating them in the future ><

We were given complimentary Heart Chocolate Ice-Cream Desserts to conclude the dining experience. It's great to end the course of savory goodness with something sweet!

photo6239965767848274046.jpg

Check out my previous post in this series!
SeanyTravels (Japan-Fukuoka) #10 Macdonalds serves Mini Hotcakes!

photo6228776622127949881.jpg



Thanks for Subscribing!.png


For my introduction post please check here!
Where else have I travelled to?
Check Seanytan's SteemitWorldMap!

Sort:  

Liver has a v strong iron taste i cant take so much either

i think i prefer pork liver after all this

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=seanytan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=seanytravels-japan-fukuoka-11-what-to-eat-and-not-eat-at-an-expensive-bbq-restaurant


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seanytan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wa, the place looks very posh. The food too! :-)

hehe yea quite expensive here! I still prefer eating at another less expensive place, will be posting about that place soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42