Columbia Gorge Visit Part 5

in #travel5 years ago

Neither my brother nor I were feeling ambitious the last day of my visit, so, rather than climb up Beacon Rock, we walked along a paved path below Beacon Rock, close to the Columbia River. This area was formerly the Doetsch Ranch, complete with home, barns, and farm animals. Now it is a day use area within Beacon Rock State Park.

20190923_170648_3.jpg

The view of the mountains across the river in Oregon is spectacular.

20190923_170419_1.jpg

The path is nearly level, with scenic glimpses of mountains in every direction. That's Beacon Rock in the distance.

20190923_170455_2.jpg

Blackberries grow in a tangle in the adjacent fields. It was well past their peak season, but I kept a sharp eye out and found just a few that were still worth eating. It made my day! Those berries have a special flavor, but perhaps that's called nostalgia.

20190923_171118_4.jpg

That little peak off in the distance is called Aldrich Butte.

20190923_171740 trimmed_1.jpg

And there is Beacon Rock again, with Hamilton Mountain visible behind it. When I lived here fifty years ago, Beacon Rock was quite bare on top. Now there are tall trees up there, reminding me of a mohawk hairdo.

20190923_173437_6.jpg

Little rabbits were scooting and jumping all along the pathway. This one was quite unafraid of us, so I was able to get a decent photo of his cute self.

All photos taken on my Android phone.

If you would like to read the previous installments of my Columbia Gorge visit, you can find them here:
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

Sort:  

@scribblingramma I am wondering if the state took the land from the ranchers to make the state park, like they took my childhood home to make a state park. Anyway, you took some nice pictures of the mountain tops.

No, in this case, I am reasonably sure the land was donated.

No, in this case, I
Am reasonably sure the
Land was donated.

                 - scribblingramma


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

@scribblingrama that is good to hear, and you got a haikubot with your reply. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46