Columbia Gorge Visit Part 4

in #travel5 years ago

Following our drive along the Columbia River Scenic Byway, my brother wanted to stop by the Bonneville Fish Hatchery to see the Sturgeon Viewing Area. He was taking advantage of our outing to further investigate some of the places tourists will ask about while he is volunteering at the Multnomah Falls information desk. Not having been there myself, I was more than happy to tag along.

20190923_133026_12.jpg

What is it that makes mid 1900s government-built offices and houses so distinctive? I wish I could explain it, but I can't. There's just something about the windows, the roofs, and the white siding that screams "Government Issue."

20190923_131047 trimmed_2.jpg

The sturgeon, and other fish, can be viewed through murky windows inside this little building. One walks down a few stairs and can look into the pond where they live. To the right, you can see people looking directly down into the pond from another convenient viewing area.

20190923_131230_3.jpg

Despite the murky windows, I tried to take a few fish photos. I don't know what kind this one is. Perhaps some sort of salmon?

20190923_131314_4.jpg

Rainbow trout, I think, in the foreground. Sturgeon in back.

20190923_131504_5.jpg

I am quite sure this gigantic fish is Herman the Sturgeon; this is where he lives, and this was the biggest sturgeon in the pond. He is 81 years old, eleven feet long, and weighs nearly 500 pounds. Sorry about all the reflections in the glass! If you are into fish stories, you can read all about him here.

20190923_132019_6.jpg

I found it a little unnerving to look at the outside of the fish-viewing building and realize I had been standing below the water level.

20190923_132121_7.jpg

It was difficult to take a photo of the pond, due to the reflections, but you can see the big sturgeon in the water.

20190923_132221_8.jpg

Signs told us not to feed the fish in the above pond, but other ponds nearby were stocked with various kinds of fish and a person can actually buy food from a dispenser. The ducks were hanging around, hoping for spillage.

20190923_132649_9.jpg

The fountain in front of the gift shop has an appropriate theme. That's Table Mountain in the background.

20190923_132700_10.jpg

And, since this is considered to be prime Bigfoot country, it was no surprise to find a Bigfoot statue outside the gift shop. Supposedly, one of them was spotted crossing the road about half a mile from my home when I lived there as a child. I did not sleep well for quite some time after that.

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 214 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14