Have You Ever Been on a Cruise?

in #travel7 years ago

446.jpg

Three years ago, I was not a big fan of cruises. Today? I can't wait to go on my next one!

I always thought, based on what other people thought of them, that it was like a singles' bar at sea. Sleazy dudes with gold chains and stale pick-up lines, and boob-jobbed women stuffed into the smallest of bikinis roaming the decks, drinks in hand and ready for a hook-up.

Then three years ago, my wife's friend was talking about the really wonderful cruise she went on with the Disney Cruise Line. Yeah, yeah ... Disney. My mind immediately went to thinking about those sleazy guys and ladies on a Disney ship? How would that go? Well, rest assured, my wife's friend said it was nothing like that. Granted, there were a lot of kids on board (of course ... Disney! Duh!). She described the food, the activities on board and the over all great experience she had on the ship and on her excursions.

So, neither me nor my wife had ever been on a cruise. We decided to book one for the two of us and our 14 year old son.

We took a 5 day cruise from Port Canaveral, FL to Grand Cayman to Castaway Cay in the Bahamas and then back to Port Canaveral. It was more fun than I expected! We had a blast, and great memories that will last as long as the dementia stays away!

We've taken two more cruises since then - one more on Disney and one on Royal Caribbean. Both were great in their own ways, too!

Three years later, I am itching to go on our 4th cruise.

How about you guys? Ever been on a cruise? How did you like it? What cruise lines and where did you go?

Sort:  

I have never been on cruise as yet, as I can not swim and an idea of sinking with a sinking ship in the middle of ocean really scares me.
But may be someday, I ll muster up the courage to go on cruise trip. Other than the idea of sinking, it all seems really cool and relaxing and luxurious.
I enjoyed reading your post and I really wanted to see the photographs you took on your cruise trips. Why didn't you post any pictures from your cruise trips ?

I will add some pictures. They are on an SD card that I cannot quite locate at the moment. Look for a new post in "travel" as a follow up in the next couple of days.

#helpmegrow

Thanks for the upvote!

I will take a look at your adventures at sea!

#helpmegrow

I haven't. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49