The Sister Cities of Los Angeles

in #travel6 years ago

When I was downtown last week, I noticed something I hadn't seen before, the Sister Cities of Los Angeles.

IMG_6582.JPG

The building behind the sign in this photo is the downtown Los Angeles Police Department. I've been in this area plenty of times but somehow I've never seen this before. I think that's because this sign is located at the south end of City Hall. It was cool to see how many sister cities I've visited.

IMG_6581.JPG

So far I've been to: Athens, Auckland, Berlin, Eilat, Guangzhou, Jakarta, Mexico City, Mumbai, St. Petersburg, Taipei, and Yerevan.

11 out of 25 isn't too bad! Here's a wider look of this sign downtown.

IMG_6580.JPG

So does everyone else know what the sister cities are for the town or city they live in? I'd love to hear about it!

!steemitworldmap 34.0522 lat -118.2437 long Los Angeles CA d3scr

schmidthappens_red.png

Sort:  

Just checked the sister cities of my Czech home town... havent been to any of them... in fact, I barely know them :D

Wow, that's crazy, I didn't know places had that many sister cities! Insane that you've been to 44% of them!! I had never thought to check before but I just checked Leeds (where I live) in the UK and I didn't know any of them!:

Brno - Czech Republic
Dortmund - Germany
Durban - South Africa
Hangzhou - China
Lille - France
Louisville - US
Siegen - Germany

Crazy! I wonder if I know anyone from Louisville!? Never been to any of the others and don't really know anyone in those countries, not that I've been to Louisville!

That's a cool list! I just read the most random article this morning about Hangzhou, China. There's a suburb of the city that's a replica of Paris!

Btw, if you want to see something wild, check out the sister cities of New York. I didn't even bother to count how many there are! There are 9 in Canada alone!

How weird is that! Both the fact that there's a suburb replica of Paris and the fact you happened to read an article on it!! Jesus that's mental! I didn't realise cities had multiple sister cities let alone that many!!

Brno is cool, I lived there for some time :)

I upvoted and resteemed your post so you will get more upvotes. If my upvote didn't work it's because my voting power is too low right now.

I upvoted and resteemed your post so you will get more upvotes. If my upvote didn't work it's because my voting power is too low right now.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=schmidthappens
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-sister-cities-of-los-angeles


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You have been around to some great places! Always cool to find new stuff in your town. Have a great day @schmidthappens!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 6 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Mexico City is the sister city of Los Angeles California? I find that someone surprising.

Don't have a clue about the sister cities of my hometown...
But you should definitely put your sister city Vancouver on your travel list. The most beautiful city I have ever seen ;)

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98