Visiting the blue capital of hashish: Chefchaouen (Morocco)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hey steemers,

today I share some memories of my trip to Chefchaouen. It's an old town in Morocco, completely painted in blue. I heard that jewish refugees painted the town blue in the 1930s as a symbol for sky and heaven, to keep away the "evil eye" when you look at people. But most locals told me, that it's made to keep away mosquitos and create a cooling atmosphere in this hot and dry climate.
Because its located in the rif-mountains, where nearly all hash for europe is grown and produced, it's surrounded by huge fields of marijuana.


This is me on one of my hiking tours into the huge marijuanafields.


The fields are huge and the smell is mindblowingly awesome, I could sit forever in this fields.


I met often farmers who were willingly to show me the process of producing hashish. They do it in a very traditional and natural way, nearly every step is handwork.


This is a picture of Chefchaouen, its the most beautyful town I have ever seen, everything is blue. This gives a very relaxing feeling, especially in the hot summer sun of Morocco.


Even inside it's painted blue.


One day the weather gave the town this super impressive atmosphere.


Also the taxis are blue. And of course the sky is it too nearly every day.


This are the beautyful rif-mountains and of course, you can't walk a step without seeing marijuanaplants.


Also the nights were awesome, the night sky of Morocco either have a sun-like bright moon, or you can see as much stars as never before in your life. Just a super clear view.

Thank you for reading and happy travelling! :)

Sort:  

Hello :) i'm from morocco and yeah Chefchaouen is one of the most beautiful cities in Morocco .. i hope you visit my country again as soon as you can .. big hug from Morocco :D

Thanks my friend, I'll definitly come back to this beautifull place on earth! You have my follow. Inshallah! :)

you have mine too

Wow! Looks awesome. You really are a talented photographer :) Next time I'll join you for some hash adventures :)

It would be a pleasure! :)

I knew once whats the deal with these blue coloured walls, but i forgot.
Do you know why they do that, paint the houses and walls blue?!

There are different reasons. I heard that jewish refugees painted it blue in the 1930s as a symbol for sky and heaven, to keep away the "evil eye" when you look at people. But most locals told me, that its made to keep away mosquitos and create a cooling atmosphere in this hot and dry climate.

Thanks for asking, I'll edit it to the text :)

Remind me to paint our house in blue. It might work in preventing dengue and death. Besides, blue is an awesome color for walls.

Yes, if you don't live in Alaska or Siberia, it's always a good choice.
Enjoy the painting! :D

Third time is a charm :P

Very cool, nice photos.

Thank you!
Morocco is always a charm :p

Beautiful pictures ! I would like to be in a surounding where hamp grows in abundance and naturally. What about the people in that magic blue town, and do they use it themselves?

The people are super super chilled. Before I went lots of people were telling me things like "What, you go alone to Morocco? It's dangerous, be carefull" But for real the people are super nice and friendly- of course, they have enough hashish for the rest of their lifetimes :p
So it's an old town, lots of people like music, especially with traditional handmade instruments.
People told me that in the rif-mountains and ketama 90% of europes hash is produced, so they export a lot and its the main income for these regions. But the best and freshest hash they keep and you can find it there.

Thanks for your reply. Meanwhile I have read your other post, where you describe more the town and people. Great stuff. I had some bad experiences in Morocco, however I think it was because I was a stupid tourist... But on the other hand if you have a very corrupt government, the people will be in tune.
Good luck for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43