Exploring A Mongolian Yurt & Beyond

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever been to Mongolia?
Have you ever even HEARD of Mongolia?!

Even though the majority of my university education revolved around visual communication, I had the opportunity to travel abroad to Mongolia about 2 years ago. Before this trip, I honestly knew absolutely nothing about Mongolia.

Through this post, I'd like to share with you the culturally rich experience that I had in Mongolia.

IMG_0357.JPG

This adventure of mine took place before I got into photography, so all these photos were just taken with my iPhone to capture my extraordinary memories and experiences.

IMG_0470.JPG

Whenever I think or hear of Mongolia, my heart swells because of the love I was able to develop for these people. We met this family at church one Sunday in Ulaanbaatar, and they were kind enough to invite us to spend the evening with them.

Even though we spoke different languages, we felt that we were able to develop such a connection with these people. The little old lady that you see in the middle is the one who found us, and she was the definition of hospitable. She took us to a few tourist sites on our way to her home, and then she prepared a wonderful dinner for us to share with her as well.

IMG_0424.JPG

The thing that was truly amazing about this whole experience with this family is that they lived in such humble circumstances. Some would call it poverty. While we traveled to their home, I expected it to be an apartment or a small home, but after roaming the streets of the city and eventually coming to small dirt paths with lots of stray dogs, we realized this family lived in a yurt.

That is the interesting thing about this Mongolian city. There are lots of big apartment buildings, but then there are random areas with a ton of yurts. It really is a blend of city and nomadic lifestyles. Super unique.

IMG_0358.JPG

These yurts are just one room. All their family members would sleep together on the floor. So small, so modest. They didn't even have a toilet. They had a little hut outside with a hole dug in the ground for when they needed to relieve themselves.

IMG_0454.jpg

They made us a very nice dinner called "bodes" (or something like that). They were like little dumplings with beef inside. This family was so considerate, they even bought very lean meat for us so that we wouldn't get sick, because apparently Mongolians eat very fatty meat that doesn't sit well with the American stomach.

IMG_0440.jpg

This family even gave us gifts! The ankle bone game, and home made portraits of Genghis Khan created by burning wool. SO extremely thoughtful.

The bone game you see above was a huge hit in Mongolia. You literally are playing with the ankle bones of goats - kinda gross! Everyone knew how to play, and they were dang good at it too! I treasure the game that was gifted to me and have shared it with so many of my friends back home in the States (even though many have been scared to touch the bones at first!).

IMG_0372.jpg

My main takeaway from this Sunday in Mongolia is that even though these people had so little, they were so happy. It's kind of brutal to compare my own privileged life to theirs and then compare my happiness level. Granted, I consider myself a happy person, but it just really hit me how much we take for granted and how truly good we have it.

I encourage you guys to search for authenticity when you travel so that you can have experiences that will not just get lots of likes on Instagram, but instead will change the way you think about life.

Follow along for more photography, tips, tricks, travel, and more.

Sort:  

Valuable lesson learned. Thanks for sharing this cool experience! :)

Thanks so much for the comment! I felt that it was a valuable lesson that I learned as well, so my hope is that I was able to share it effectively :)

A great travel post with beautiful pictures. Thank you..upvote.greets

Thank you so much! I appreciate the comment :)

Congratulations @sarahjanele! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Woohoo! Thanks for the badge.

This is a story of a similar experience to what you had. But you never got the roof ripped off in the storm. Count your blessings!

https://steemit.com/backpacking/@lenatramper/the-storm-took-the-yurt-roof-away-life-in-mongolia

Wow! What a cool post!

This is such a nice post we truly have nothing to complain about, and as you say the family is happy, really happy. We can not take anyting with us at the end of our life exept maybe people remembering how to be happy if we are good to them.

Very insightful words. Thanks for the comment!

I wanna go back to Mongolia!! Awesome post btw!

Thanks for the comment! So fun that you have been able to go to Mongolia in the past! Such a cool experience.

Yeah it was~ I also wrote a lil bit about it in my steemit blog post! Thanks again for the beautiful post!

Oh awesome! I'll have to check it out :)

Great post. Not many people have the awesome experience to visit Mongolia!

It was truly a treasured experience! Thanks for the comment.

Looks like a great experience indeed... Nice work with the images too. :)

Wonderful photos! Seems super exciting

Thank you! I wish I could redo this whole trip with my photography knowledge and nice camera now... but still very exciting! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09