You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TRAVELMAN INDIA: “In India, you can throw a rock in the air and it will hit a yoga teacher. But most are not true teachers.”

in #travel6 years ago

Hi @travelman! What's up?
I have catch up with you late posts about Taj Mahal (a bit like Siem Reap) and you frustrations about the entire yoga session, the lecture being vacuous but pretentious, the language barrier and the meditation with the Hooom loud guy and the sanskrit words that are just ancient and don't mean much to you.
India is hard to understand and intense and it is not for everybody.
It was all funny reading it, but I think I would run away after not even a week. Especially if I never practiced Yoga and I would be THAT skeptical about the entire practice, all the discomfort, the lack of cultural reference.
Why one INTENSE 200 hours course? Why not just a week?
I would kill myself out of boredom and I guess you are too at the moment! Get out of there, nobody keep you there, even if you paid.
I want my mind to wonder, I don't want to be numb into meditation.
Remember that it is great to embrace other cultures and values, but you DON'T HAVE TO FORCE YOUR SELF if every single moment makes you be so critical and a moaner. I am not saying that you shouldn't be.
You should. I would be even worst.
But if your world feels THAT diverse from the yoga world, why are you spending your time there?
That's the reason I think you should run away from that yoga retreat! Go to pick up coffee, volunteer in a primary school, plenty of other ways to immerse yourself into Indian culture, without numbing your brain in doing the most boring thing you are doing and you don't believe in it!
Peace and love,
Sandra

Sort:  

I was concerned that readers of these posts may take it as though i hate this experience. Its not the case. My posts are ficusing on my daily struggles so far and my doubts. I expecred to feel a lot of this and disagree with parts of ehat im learning. But i want to learn it. I want to understand. I want to take from it what i can to improve my daily life. I want to know through experience what the bullshit is and what the gold is. My day today was up and down. I was angry and frustrated at times and elated and fascinated at other times. Thanks for all your thoughts and im glad you find some of it funny. I always enjoy your passion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52