Photo Reference Gathering Mission For Potential Paintings in Fiordland, New Zealand

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemers!

I am a landscape artist and I also live in one of the most beautiful countries in the world, New Zealand. I live in the south island of New Zealand which is characterised by high mountains and a wild landscape and for a landscape artist like me there is a never ending amount of subjects to paint.

Every so often I go out on photo reference gathering missions to use for potential landscape paintings and mountains are a brilliant subject to paint.

Here are some of my photos from my last trip to Fiordland National Park, its about a four hour drive away from where I live. I took my paints with me and did some plein air paintings whilst I was there.

We first stopped off in an area where you get this stunning mountain view of Mt Talbot and Mt Crosscut, this is one of my favourite views in New Zealand and I have painted this many time.

Can you spot me painting?

This is me painting by the river, it gives you an idea of how high the mountains are.

After I painted Mt Talbot we drove on to Milford Sound. This is a view of Mt Talbot from the road.

We got to Milford Sound and I set up my pochade box easel and started painting again.

Milford Sound is a natural fjord with dramatic landscape.

You see lots of these stacked stones in New Zealand.

Milford Sound, this is an iconic view in New Zealand.

I hope you enjoyed my photos.

Sort:  

Amazing place it looks different every time. I wish to go back this year and spend a few days discovering the area. Walking around the Milford track and the Routeburn track carrying my painting gear is on my to do list... I wish 🎨🖌⛺️🏔🎣

You should totally come down here again, if I'm around we should go painting in Milford.

oh god you live in a paradise. My country has many natural beauties but sadly the bad situation has ruined the tourism.

@momslife, New Zealand is a beautiful country. It's sad what has happened in Venezuela, I hope cryptocurrencies are helping you. I'd love to visit Venezuela.

Thanks, I'm just starting with this but i have faith. I know Venezuela is gonna be like it was, and then everyone is gonna visit it and would know the beauties of my country

Wow you really live in a beautiful part of the world! Now this question is way off topic but I've heard that it's illegal to grow your own vegetable garden in New Zealand, is there any truth to that?

Yeah New Zealand is beautiful. I don't think that is true in NZ but there are definitely counties in the USA where it's illegal to grow your own food, which is tyrannical and fascist in my opinion.

Yes, unfortunately that's what its becoming over the last nearly 20 years. The US used be a pretty decent country but now the powers that be seem to enjoy taking freedoms rather than protecting them and they've got a portion of the next generation actually protesting AGAINST free speech...

Im in love with your photos!!!! Love to visit New Zealand some day, the views are just so beautiful!! Im also a photographer please check out my work and give me your opinion!
https://steemit.com/photography/@whohow36/3hawbb-the-beauty-of-my-homeland
20170630_105657.jpg

hello @samuel-earp-art : D your posting is so good !!

and there are so beautiful place!!!!!!!!

i am korean i want to follow on you

Check your Class of SteemPower

Sir ur work is out of the world
ur Paintings are like it's a mirror to the original.hats off to you🎩
Regards @crafter

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Nice one greetings from Wellington! I just visited South Island. Magical place! queenstown-2.jpg

Nice photo of Walter Peak. I love Wellington, I used to live there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73