Aussie Slang- Going to the servo for a durry after my cuppa!

in #travel7 years ago

8414250339_2c21dcc74f_b.jpg
@stitchybitch broadcasting once more from the helm of the U.S.S. Minnowprize! I have been in Australia almost a month and have heard and picked up some funny words! Here are a couple that have stuck with me the most!

If you like them, I will gladly do more!


Go for a slap

When I first heard this a lot of weird images came through my head. Some that would make a sailor blush. How foolish and filthy I felt when I found out that this phrase meant something as simple as to go play the pokies (slot machines). However, if you hear someone say "slap and tickle" that is the one that means... Well... when two adults love each other very much...



Flog it/them/him/her

This one is pretty easy to interpret. Flogging is to give something a beating, literally when in reference to a person. However when in reference to other things, like say, a car, it means to work it hard. Push it to its limits. Now if you were pissed at said car, you could probably flog it in the other sense of the word as well.



Crack/get the shits

This is one I am extremely fond of. It means to get angry/annoyed/irritated. Sometimes it can even mean a complete meltdown or someone flipping out depending on the severity of aforementioned shits.



"Want a cuppa?"

Cuppa is British in origin, but is heard quite frequently in Oz and refers to a strong (and usually good quality) cup of tea.



Servo

Known stateside as a "gas station", Servos are exactly the same. You can get your durries (see below), drinks, fuel, and perhaps a meat pie or sausage roll in one go. However, seeing "148.9" instead of "3.00" is a bit of a sticker shock.



Durry/fad/fag

A cigarette, plain and simple. I will admit that having someone ask me if I had a fag for the first time was a moment of "dafuq".



For those sensitive to "bad" words, you may want to stop here. Our last one tends to be a bit of a touchy word in a lot of circles. You know the one.



Cunt

Stateside, this is a word that is strong enough in conotation to get people foaming at the mouth. (Personally, I love the word "cunt" and it was one of the first things I cross stitched.)
Cunt can be used negatively, positively, and is incredibly versatile downunder. It is a blanket word for many things. You can use it to inform someone that they are a piece of shit, or that you like them a great deal. This can cause some confusion and sometimes clarification is required.




As always thank you for reading and we hope you like what we brought to the blockchain today! Please leave your feedback in the comments! We love to hear it!! Stay tuned for some amazing and unreal things coming your way!
Much love, @stitchybitch & @sammosk <3



(Gif credit to giphy, popkey, imgur, and picturequotes!)


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this informations I will remember when I travel to The aussis xD

Always a good yarn taking about Aussie slang. Thanks for sharing!

I appreciate all but "Want a cuppa?" got my attention the most. I love the idea of taken good quality cup of tea.

hehehe that's awesome, it doesn't matter the amount of money one spent on getting what he/she love. Aus here i come

hahaha as an Australian i love this!

You're defo a bit how ya going, where ya going mate

Maaaate! While you're hangin' out Down Under you gotta crack a tinny and root some sheilas while dumpin' shit on some bogans for drivin' povo shitboxes. 😄

On a side note...I will be dining at "Rick's Cafe" when I visit Morocco in April.

Hello, great work, i liked your post and reward it with upvote.

I'm running budget proposal campaign on Steemit for funding my future STEEM Windows and Android app - STEEMER. If you would like to contribute, please visit my post for details: https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@cryptomonitor/steemer-your-future-steem-blockchain-transactor-windows-android-app-funding-update-23-12-2017

This post has received a 1.98 % upvote, thanks to: @sammosk.

This post has received a 36.44 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @sammosk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63