Impromptu Photo Tour #1: Thalang Road (Part 3 of 3)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Last week, I started a photo tour at the famed Thalang Road in Old Phuket Town. This is the link to the Part 1 and Part 2. :)

IMG_0460.JPG

Let's pick up from the last photo in my last post. I finally arrived at Aroon Resturant, a certified Halal restaurant in Thalang Road. The decor is humble to say the least, no air conditioning, nor any fancy furnishings. You only pay for the authentic flavors and that's what I like best about this place. This place is packed between lunch to late afternoon making it challenging to secure a table instantly. On this day, I was lucky to find a table right at the back, a few steps away from the kitchen. It was warmer than those near the entrance but I'm famished so I don't mind.

IMG_0439.JPG

Immediately, I ordered Chachukyen, the milk tea on steroids! LOL look at the foam on this drink! I'm not the best in Thai language but the literal translation is cold pulled/pulling tea. Cha (tea) -Chuk (pulling) -Yen (cold). It must have to do with making the foam for this milk tea.

IMG_0441.JPG

Then, my favorites. In the photo above, you can see:

  1. Stir Fried Flat Noodles with Beef (I normally order the egg noodles but they ran out of it)
  2. Beef curry with Plain Roti
  3. Chachukyen

IMG_0457.JPG

All orders are verbal or sometimes written in a piece of paper, then it gets shouted to the kitchen. It is normal to have 1 or 2 missing dishes in your order. I also order Roti with Banana, Egg, and Chocolate but the order was lost in oblivion. I was full so did not bother to follow up. It would have looked something like this (photo taken from another visit):

IMG_9392.JPG

Roti with Banana, Egg, and Chocolate and Stir Fried Egg Noodles

Needless to say, I demolished my food in record time. Tasty and very satisfying as usual. This is it for my impromptu photo tour. I hope you enjoyed the bits of photos and history I shared.


Til next time, Jay


Sort:  

Awesome Work!

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that rewards and promotes original photographers on Steemit.

Your photography will be featured in today's lucky 10 showcase alongside nine other lucky photographers. Not only that, but this post has received a lottery number for the February 2018 "Lucky Photo Lottery" for a chance of winning free Steem Dollars.


DQmcR8um3rEHSPn4fHk1PXQkPLjMT6oKheiaJS8t2EKcdUc.png

Wow! Thank you so much for the opportunity! 😊

.01 ra japon after ko ni vote wahhh

Thank you kaau hehe. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ruthless
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=impromptu-photo-tour-1-thalang-road-part-3-of-3


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

nice pictures!

Looking at these photos reminds me so much of my last trip to Phuket. I remembered having banana pancakes with nutella (absolutely sinful), phad thai, stir fried noodles, Tom Yum Goong and loads more...I hope you had an enjoyable trip!

I live in Thailand for almost 7 years now, and yes, food here is amazing. I was 55 kg when I first got here, and now I’m 71kg. Imagine that. Haha

Haha..i totally understand. Which part of Phuket are you based in? I had an absolutely good time when I was there about 2 years ago and stayed in Patong before moving up North to Kamala. I enjoyed Kamala more as it is quieter and serene compared to the touristy and noisy Patong

I’m in Phuket Town, which is also closer to work. Patong is just too much for me, too wild or I’m just getting old to tsug tsug tsug! Haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14