What to do in Melbourne - go to Abbotsford

in #travel7 years ago

After being disappointed by a complete lack of suggestions what to do today from my trusted Steemians, I decided to head up to Abbotsford, working off a tip I'd received that they know a thing or two about beer up there.

IMG_8645.JPG

Having been stuck in the CBD for so long, it was really refreshing to be in a nice laid back suburban bit of town, especially as I am travelling on my own. You can start to feel a bit conspicous in the city centre, constantly going places just by yourself.

I started off in a decent place called The Vic, where the beer, food, music, people, and atmosphere were all good, although it was a tad expensive. 2 beers, a burger and small fries took me over 50 bucks.

I then tried to go look at the Carlton brewery bar, but as it was pushing 5pm on a Sunday it was already closed, and not a fantastic part of town to be wandering around solo.

After that I went to find moondog, which has to be one of the stand-out discoveries of my entire trip. The beer was great and sensibly priced, the folks were sound as fcuk, the surroundings were eclectic but chilled, and there was a freakin roller disco going on in the other room!! I could have gotten in for $18 including skate hire, but decided to let the younger cooler folks have their fun unmolested.

IMG_8641.JPG

In just a few hours, Abbotsford managed to promote itself from being just another Melbourne suburb that i'd never bothered to visit, to one of the places I will always make time for if I am back here again. I guess it reminded me of Camden, in London, with it's relaxed but committed approach to doing something different and worthwhile, and standing out from all the other tedious suburbs that really aren't worth your effort.

Sort:  

Well you did manage to find probably the best brewery in Melbourne, Moondog is amazing, the master the holy trinity, great (weird) beer, a funky space (did you wonder where the rest of the brewery was? Did you see anyone disappear behind the bookcase to the right of the bar?) and of cause great pizzas.

Thanks for your comment @harveyword, it was indeed all a bit surreal, but exactly my kind of place. I was a bit surprised when told folks in the office on Monday that I'd gone up to Abbotsford for the afternoon - they responded like I was crazy, or perhaps a junky?!! I guess maybe the place has some history I don't know about.....

Oh yeah it's also certainly the place to go to get whatever hard drug you are after, but like most of those types of areas it's pretty easy to not notice/avoid if you aren't looking for it.

@runtime Nothing can stop you in search for your beer.

Yes!! The ends justify the means. Cheers @mdominicorobin

If its beer. Then cheers indeed. Love your blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60716.58
ETH 3369.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48