James Dean Memorial at Cholame on my Son's birthday. California State Route 46 nicknamed "blood alley" *** photography ***

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

As we travel toward the central coast on State Route 41 we come upon The James Dean Memorial Junction and quickly merge onto State Route 46. Within a minute of being on State Route 46, we pull over at the James Dean Memorial to stretch our legs and let birthday boy walk around the James Dean Memorial.

I have driven pass this James Dean Memorial maybe 100 times in my lifetime, but today we stopped to let birthday boy stretch his legs.


@luvbnamome had never stopped at the memorial and she has never seen a James Dean movie, so I think it's time we sit down and watch one of the classics.

Daniel turned 2 years old on January 5 2017. This is his fourth time driving through this dangerous section of road that was made famous by a young actor 62 years ago.

The Stainless Steel sculpture was designed in Japan and the memorial's benefactor Seita Ohnishi, chose the location for the James Dean sculpture.


This memorial has been her since 1977

The sculpture wraps around a tree of heaven

My son doesn't know who James Dean is, but @runridefly has watched both "East of Eden" and "Rebel Without A Cause" more than a few times.

Sort:  

I have not seen much of you so checking in to say hi and say HBD to your little dude

Have a good week. If you have not seen that movie on Bitcoin I just reviewed -- watch it online - it is very very good!!!! I think I put about 3 solid hours into that post which will likely get 20 views and earn about 40¢ like usual lol

@barrydutton, been on vacation with family and I already upvoted your awesome post. Will watch video later. Got babies all over the place, so its hard to do anything like rest and watch a video. Lol

LOL, all good man.

Nice post @runridefly! & a Happy Birthday to your little guy:)

@steemit-life, I really appreciate that. Since Daniel's 2nd, he hasn't been so terrible. Lol

Nice post, thanks

@rynow, thank you for the short and sweet comment.

I have to say I've seen Rebel Without A Cause and East of Eden a few times in my life as well. It was required watching thanks to my father! LOL That is a really cool looking memorial too. Thanks for sharing the photos of it. Hope your son had a wonderful birthday :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Don't seem to be a busy day at the time you visit but I guess not many remember the man. Personally, I heard the name quite a lot but never know much other than knowing he acted in 'Rebel Without A Cause‘

Ah - the James Dean Memorial. I had my photo taken there with fellow high school students while we were on the "Steinbeck Trip" - an annual trip for students in the Steinbeck Club at SBHS - I went on the last trip before that teacher retired - in 1989! The memorial used to be a lot shinier and newer-looking. Now my family just drives by whenever we go through.
Thanks for posting this.

https://i.imgur.com/CuJcc1K.gif
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

27948

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40