Travel To Itoigawa, Japan The Jade Coast & Japanese Benitoite!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Part 1 - Getting There.

(Mt. Fuji from the train)
IMG_1406.JPG

I spent Father’s Day weekend last year, on the West Coast of Japan in Itoigawa. It’s Unesco registered Geopark due to it’s geology and is famous for it’s Jade (Jadeite), ヒスイ (he-sue-ee) littered beaches and rivers. However, it holds a much more precious gemstone in it’s mountains, Benitoite, the ultra rare state gemstone of California. I’ll get to that later.

Screen Shot 2017-06-07 at 7.39.49 PM.png

I took an express train on the Chuo line from Hachioji to Itoigawa which was about ¥4,000 ($40) cheaper than the Shinkansen. It adds about 2 hours to your journey, but that was great time spent working on music and taking in the beautiful scenes of the Japan Alps.

IMG_0854.jpg

Upon arriving at Itoigawa station’s west exit there is a visitor’s center that I encourage everyone to visit. Inside there are actual boulders of Jade to look at and touch so you can familiarize yourself with the precious stone. It’s a very difficult stone to identify in the rough and there are several look a likes that can easily fool the ametuer, so it’s a good idea to stop here first, touch, look, ask questions, etc. before heading to the beach. The gift shop sells rough and cut material that also comes in handy to help identify it in the field.

(Jadeite boulders in the visitor's center)
IMG_1433.JPG

After a few minutes of browsing I left the center and walked the two blocks to the beach anxious to start hunting. As soon as I hit the beach I was taken back by how much Nephrite (Jade), Agate, Mariposite aka Kitsune Ishii and other green stones there were. Nephrite is another type of Jade, but a totally different mineral, usually darker green to black in color. In the two hours of collecting I picked up about 10 kilos worth of fist sized and smaller material. Unfortunately I would find out 99% of it was not Jade.

(A fantastic mariposite aka kitsune ishii)
IMG_1446.JPG

Tons of Mariposite, like the specimen above, litter the beaches and are often confused with jade.

My Air BnB host, Toshio-san, was the ideal host. Without asking he took me to several beaches, lunch, the Fossa Magna museum and to see the hotaru, fireflies at night. He is an old surfer so he speaks English and loves to chat with foreigners. He's also knowledgable about Jadeite and often has collectors from all over Japan stay at his place. His accommodations can be found on Airbnb and are just across the coast highway from one of the collecting beaches. https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/13244563?location=Itoigawa%2C%20Niigata%20Prefecture%2C%20Japan&s=UbLlZHxx

(Toshio-san's place & his board shop Voltage)
IMG_1518.JPG

After dropping my bags off it was back to the beach for another hour of hunting then across the street to 7-11 for dinner. The convenience stores in Japan have almost replaced all small markets and actually offer good food compared to American convenience stores. You can get a plethora of meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner that are made fresh each day by their suppliers. I went back to my room, downed a few sapporo's and enjoyed the sunset.

IMG_1452.JPG.

To be continued tomorrow. Day 2 the good stuff.

Sort:  

looks like a great trip. I'm anxious to see more.

Thanks. Best is yet to come. I dream of going back there all the time, but the Mrs. insists I take her too, and the kids which means I watch the kids while she hunts....

Nice post, I've been lucky enough to have been on a couple of train journeys through the Japanese alps and can back you up on your point about the beautiful scenery. Green trees for miles, gorgeous rivers and we even saw a few eagles.

You might be interested in my post about the Deer Park in Nara, I would highly recommend going there if you get the opportunity https://steemit.com/travel/@captaincanary/nara-japan-home-to-1200-wild-deer

Just paid you a visit. Fun times traveling around Japan!

Thanks, I just replied

Cool, I collect rocks too. Cheers

Ya Bug, and I got the silver tucked away too, Morgans, Walkers, Barbers, etc. Cheers.

Do you have a crocoite specimen?

That I do not. I have lead and cinnabar, but no crocoite. It's a beautiful mineral, just haven't gotten to it yet. There are a LOT of minerals out there. I try to focus on California, SW US & Japanese minerals, benitoite, red beryl, tourmaline, smithsonite, halite, and on and on. Someday I will definitely add Crocoite to my collection though.

I like malachite and azurite as well, awesome colors in them I think.

Oh definitely. I re-tweeted a malachite rose on twitter the other day. Never seen anything like it. Absolutely stunning. Check out aurichalcite. It's a zinc/copper mineral. Really nice color.

Will do thanks.

That's a stunning color, it looks similar to a mesolite I have, just a more beautiful color. Cheers

Just for you Azurite rose.
https://www.instagram.com/p/BU7Qd9JhL1X/

No matter how far you go. There will always be a coke machine.

Followed. The kind of stuff I want to be doing, and certainly enjoy reading. For the record..convenience stores...not convince stores...sorry...could not help myself {smile} ....upvoted.

Thanks. Autocorrect and bad editing on my part.

Once you break out of that 9-5 grind, get over the fear, you can do anything, go anywhere. I don't have an easy life, but I have the most rewarding life experiences and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Followed back.

yup. I gotta grow a pair..that bloody corporate paycheque .....grrrrrrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55