TLCA Cruise Moab 2016

in #travel8 years ago

My ride-along adventure through Moab with the Toyota Land Cruiser Association

MOAB 2016

I recently had the good fortune of being invite for a ride-along with a friend of mine who is a member of the TLCA. There are many place to post about this epic adventure but it I can't think of a better thing to than just STEEMit.

I'll let the pictures do the talking. Enjoy.

  1. The day begins

The Day Begins

  1. Heading west on I70 to Moab

  1. Lining up for Poison Spider

  1. Driving to the trail head

  1. Airing down and final equipment checks

  1. Tight path for these big rigs

  1. My first cacti in the wild!

  1. Pacer tackling Waterfall. I decided to work the camera on this one :)

  1. Attempt 2

  1. Great success!!

  1. Tucked

  1. Convoy heading to the next challenge

  1. Amazing what these trucks will climb. Crawling up the wall...

  1. Mmm...end of day IPA.

  1. Trying to fix my MUSE witness at basecamp

  1. Dinner and raffle! Our table did well. Winning all sorts of...stuff

  1. View from Dome Plateau on day two

  1. Group enjoying the view. I wandered over here to make sure we didn’t just put 50k lbs of Land Cruisers on top of an amphitheater

  1. Obligatory selfie from Dome Plateau

  1. Crawling around an arch like good tourists

  1. Back on the trail

  1. The off camber doesn’t come through in photos. Pacer was an excellent pilot and never put a wheel wrong

  1. Caves

  1. Love it and leave it

  1. Old mining camp

  1. Plant life in the desert

  1. Exploring abandoned mine. Not as creepy as I expected actually

  1. So many things to photograph…

  1. Getting ready to roll out from the mine. Rain on the horizon

  1. An old steam powered rock cutter used to smooth out trails through the rocky terrain

  1. An old bridge that got washed away by a flooded Colorado River

  1. The steel remains...

  1. A rainbow waves goodbye. Thank you MOAB and Pacer for an incredible experience.

Riverhead.

Sort:  

Love the original content and dedicated witness tech support.

To be honest there is a certain geek pride in remote server admin - the more remote the better.

Awesome photos!!! Red flowers are Indian Paintbrush. Not sure about the photo below it. Definitely looked like a great experience. It's on my Bucket List.

I'm not sure what I like most about all this...
At first, the travel itch part of my brain just wanted to see pics of Moab (being on my to-see list) all while glimpsing into the life of Riverhead.
Then I see the MUSE witness slide right there in the desert haha. Can't help but smile.

But the most powerful thought was the realization that I felt like sharing stuff of my own. Normally, for me at least, posting content would have 1 point for it, I get to share things I like. But it also comes with a point against it, I could be doing something else with that time that would be "more productive" to myself. Well for some reason, I don't feel that with STEEM because I would actually be doing something potentially productive.
Now the pros outweight the cons! There's the fun part of sharing (altruistic reason) and the self-interested reason of earning crypto.
I never usually bothered with mining BTC or any other altcoin. But this is different! I feel the urge to start mining with STEEM and Steemit. If it has this effect on me, I doubt I will be the only one...

Anyway thanks Riverhead for assisting in this lightbulb moment ^^

Happy to be of service :). Moab was certainly a bucket list for me. I didn't have any intention of going but then a seat opened up in a buddy's truck and I hoped on a plane (that makes it sounds so easy lol). If you have the desire and ability I highly recommend it. Photos do not do this place justice.

Awesome! I didn't know there was such a group as the TLCA, I didn't know land cruisers could do that and I've never been to Moab. I must visit sometime.. on a land cruiser. Those are some great pics!

Amazing!

Hey I really enjoyed your post, I love road trips on 4x4... however due to a fat finger problem y downvoted it by mistake.. I upvoted all the rest of your posts to compensate! .. sorry :(

No worries man. Glad you liked the pictures. Keep on truck'n :).

wonderful its like a dream for me a little frenchy in perigord

Thanx for sharing! Pretty cool experience . Great photos :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14