Yashas Travelogue #10 - Adventure Motorbike Ride To Indo- China Border Nathu La Pass at 4310m!!! Freezing Temperature, Landslide and Himalayan Wild dogs!! Photos Inside!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

It was fairy tale ride to me of sorts, riding the Nathu La pass was a sheer pleasure just because it brought lots of surprises which was beautifully dangerous. A 52 km ride from the Capital of Sikkim, Nathu la is one of the most prominent borders of India with China, motorbike ride to Nathu La pass definitely require ILP(Inner Line Permit) which can be obtained in Gangtok.

Snow covered path to nathu la.jpg

Stoppin by to enjoy full snow.jpg

Rain had played spoil sport for my plans to ride through the northern Sikkim region, missing Nathu La as well would have been a disaster. Thankfully, weather calmed down, I was ready and rearing to go for Nathu La. Mr Karma Bhutia accompanied me till the first check post, he is one of most famous super bikers of Sikkim.

Road to nathula at higher altitude.jpg

The most expected part of Himalayan Ride begins

Terrain was slushy and was not covered with snow; however that was not the way things would turn out to be. Mr. Karma warned about the snowfall as I ride further up the pass and bid me good bye. I was all on my own now; weather could turn crazy at any point in time. This is not the worst situation ever, I can do it and there is absolutely nothing that can stop me from doing it, at the same time I knew going against nature is foolish.

Entering Nathu La with Karma.jpg

Starting road conditions of Nathu La.jpg

Enticing Tsomgo lake strikes!!!!

It started as a careful ride; terrain remained rough all through the ride and was worst in some parts of it. It was a good 20 Kms into the ride, yet no signs of snowfall. I met few Jawans at an army camp on the way. Just when I thought I ll stop for a break, as I was supposed to reach Changu Lake by now, I saw an amazing lake, reflecting the beautiful Himalayan Range in its full grandeur. Water was crystal clear and was the nicest view of my life. On asking a passerby I got to know it was indeed Tsomgo Lake or Changu Lake as the locals call it.

Tsong Mo or Changu lake.jpg

Roads after changu lake towards nathu La.jpg

I took a Yak ride to go around this lake and with every passing second the beauty of the lake only multiplied. Weather in Sikkim can get really nasty, even though I wanted to spend some time at the Lake, I had to hurry up. The image of Tsomgo Lake will have ever lasting beautiful impression on my mind. I rode on further towards Nathu La, the beauty of eastern Himalayas started unfolding in front of me. Nature turned white and the distant highway was seen as a trail.

Picture at Tsong Mo lake.jpg

Stoppin by to enjoy changu lake.jpg

The scene was straight out of a fairy tale. I was running on stock R15 tires, sports bike tires bound to slip on slippery ice surface. I was hence extra careful. The scenic route kept me occupied and I wished this never ended. It was me, my bike and the nature at its best. I stopped everywhere to immerse myself as much as possible here, and at a distance I could see Nathu La gate.

Snow covered roads to Nathu La.jpg

MotorBike Ride to Nathu La Pass – A shock awaited!!!!

Just like how every good thing has an end, there comes an end ot my happiness. Army personnel deployed at Nathu La gate told me Nathu La was closed due to heavy snowfall. I requested them to let me go as I had to make it to Nathu La at any cost, they denied sighting wild dogs and extreme weather as reasons. I stood my ground and eventually they let me try at my own risk. 300m into the ride bike got stuck in snow and again army had to rescue me and the bike.

Bike stuck point after nathula gate.jpg

Car stuck in snow on nathu la.jpg

I could see wild dogs loafing around and then I realized it was extremely dangerous to go any further. I requested army to take me to the Nathu La , they then sent me in one of the 4wheel drives. It was just 4km to Nathu La top from Nathu La gate, guess what!! Even the 4 wheel drive got stuck in extreme snow 2 kms short of pass. I had a gala time in snow till the army truck cleared the snow for us to continue to Nathu La pass.

Meditating on snow.jpg

Mission accomplished with Tri Color !!!

It was mission accomplished, I reached Nathu La pass, hoisted the tri color there. I could see Chinese post just stone throw away from me. The roads on the other side of the border was fully asphalted and was in pristine condition unlike on our side.

Nathu La pass.jpg

hoisting tri colour on Nathu La pass.jpg

Chinese side of Nathu La border.jpg

It was 1 o clock in the noon and I was running very late, and was almost certain that will have to face some nasty weather along the way riding the old silk route to Kalimpong. The experience of which will be continued in next post.

I am sure you would have enjoyed my fairy tale journey through the high Himalayan Pass, at sub zero temperatures. I have lots of my travel tales to share with you. If you enjoyed the ride with me do not forget to

upvote. resteem and follow (@rideofpassion)

You will enjoy riding my other stories

Not Every Muslim Is A Terrorist - A letter of Humanity from my Afghanistan Travel - An Untold Story

Take care, till we meet next time!!!!

Sort:  

Wow this looks like an amazing adventure! I upvoted :-) I was hiking last weekend, not as adventurous as you but if you like you can check out my post too ;-)

https://steemit.com/travel/@tschoartschi/a-very-impressive-hike-in-the-alps-traunstein-at-traunsee

@tschoartschi- That is wonderful brother, I was literally hiking as I read your blog... you painted a picture to me ... I loved it.keep up the good work :)

This post has received a 7.14 % upvote from @minnowhelper thanks to: @eutectico. For more information, click here!

extreme!

Man, what an adventure! I'm jealous :D

@motionemotion - Thanks a lot bro, it was an adventure of lifetime for me... thank you :)

I think you r to have and encourages...... Thank you for sharing your opinion by steemit platform....... And best of luck for further courageous advanturee

Good article

Nice adventure, Hope you will take me with you on your next ride wink

@ebugreat- Always willing to share the travel, thats one of the privileges we get as riders and travelers

great post. thanks for sharing

Thank you @mergim, pleasure is mine

Super voyage, dans une région magnifique, merci de nous avoir fait partager cette belle expédition.

@houkar -
Merci pour ces mots gentils

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37