Hanging in Liyang, Part 1

in #travel7 years ago


Many expats who live in China love to grumble about the cities they live in. They also love to use the words "backwards" and then go on to voice a litany of complaints about all the American or European comforts they can't find. Poor them! They are so oppressed -- never mind that they actually chose to come here and are making much more money then their Chinese neighbors.  I am reminded of this every time I venture out into small town China. Changzhou has over four million residents. It's bigger than Chicago. Smaller cities have 1 to 2 million people. That's still bigger than your average American city. Some Chinese cities have larger numbers than whole countries, like New Zealand. For me, getting outside of the Chinese urban centers provides me with a valuable perspective. It makes me grateful for the "small" Chinese city I lived in for more than three and half years.  Recently, I did this gratitude exercise with the town Liyang.



Getting to Liyang requires mostly riding a long distance bus. Yes, the city has a train station, but it's on a limited line. Liyang is also a county level city that is under the jurisdiction of Changzhou. So, let's think about this carefully. Liyang, while a city in it's own right, is actually part of a larger, neighboring city, and there is no rail link between the two. However, there is a rail link between the city and Shanghai. Higher economic priorities dictate, I guess. The bus trip there took over three hours, and the bus back took about two and half. Traffic matters. 



The area around the intercity bus station is deceptive, at first. This is likely because of my American aversion to Grayhound stations. In America, bus depots usually tend to be in shitty parts of town.  In China, that doesn't seem to apply. In Liyang, it also seems to not apply.



RT Mart, a Korean supermarket chain, is actually next to Liyang's bus station. In the three days I spent in this town, this turned out to be the most international of groceries the town had to offer. Here, I was able to stock up on cans of Monster and a few bulk bags of fruit before heading off to settle into my hotel further up the road, in Liyang's downtown. 



 My initial dismissal of the area around the bus station proved counter productive. Standard, western logic, would suggest that restaurant and nightlife culture would be around what seemed the city center. In Liyang, this didn't seem to be the case. Yes, me hotel ended up being around the town's central shopping districts, but those get rather boring at night. Next time I go back to this town, my attention to this needs to shift away from the urban center. This is probably for the best. A lot of the tourist attraction comes from the natural scenery and the hills around Tianmu Lake. 


So, the travel lesson here is this: when in small town China, don't laugh at the idea of hanging in restaurants near the bus station. It's good advice for traveling through urban America (trust me, I once got robbed in Pittsburgh), but China is clearly not America. Nor should it be. 

Sort:  

I think even in Singapore, the expat complain about things they cannot get though they have a fat pay cheque but there's always e-commerce nowadays and even Amazon Prime came recently and did so brisk business in early days they have to get taxis to deliver. Not your typical Amazon operations

Right, a lot of expats just like to complain. I have a totally deaf ear to it. People learn that rather quickly about me when the meet me in person.

I've taken a lot of busses lately in Canada and it's true, our bus stations suck and are off the beaten path most of the time. My Chinese travel mate commented on it too. Chinese bus stations are much better but at least greyhound has free wifi in. Their busses in Canada.

The bus stations may have us beat but at least the buses in Canada have bathrooms. I once took a 10 hour bus ride from Chengdu to Jiuzhaigou and the bus wasn't outfitted with a toilet. We made frequent stops but sometimes nature calls when you least expect it.

Some of our buses start to have USB and Singapore isn't even big. I just want to get from A to B pronto.
Why would I want to plug into USB?

Haha. Do you know how many external battery charges I have bought because I forgot to charge my phone the night before? I would totally be a guy thanking the universe for the USB slots when my phone's battery is about tot die.

You need to get one of the solar thing. :-)

@solarguy I always tell people that public transit is something China is clearly much, much better at than North America.

That Minnie Mouse bush is a little terrifying. I used to frequent RT mart in the old city I lived in. I didn't realize it was a Korean chain! The more you know.

One thing China doesn't lack is shopping. I've never seen so many shopping malls in my life...and they are enormous. I used to think West Edmonton Mall in Canada was big. These places seem to dwarf it. In my opinion, they are TOO big.

Excellent comment, I really like your work. I think it is very objective in the analysis and in what you want to convey. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.

thanks for reading!

I'm inspired!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87