A small town in 陵水 in the morning

in #travel8 years ago

This morning I managed to get outside much earlier, a little after six, and this was the view down the river, to the east.

dawn17715c.jpg

The air was still a little cool. Now, four hours later, I can feel the heat of the sun even inside the building, and I hear the noises from the construction that is going on all around. At six it was peaceful, and the day had not really begun.

dawn3297a1.jpg

Looking at these photographs now, I am finding it difficult to believe that the sky had all these colours. I think it did, because I remember being disappointed with the first shot, so I zoomed in and put the camera on the low curbing of the bridge, trying to get less grey sky in the picture.

dawn42ca4a.jpg

Then I walked into the town to see what was happening early in the day.

dawn51d231.jpg

Most of the shops and restaurants were still closed, except a few serving the local noodle breakfast, and there were a few people about on their motorbikes. I also saw schoolchildren, I think having to make the half hour journey into the local city to their schools.

dawn6056bf.jpg

This has always been my way of travelling. There are sites, tourist attractions, but what I really like to do is hang out in the local neighbourhood, shop in the local market, and make friends with the local teashop. When I first came to Hainan, in 2002, the university I worked at was right out in the countryside. I bought a cheap bicycle and used to ride the dirt roads through the surrounding villages. I wonder if they still remember the tall foreigner on his bicycle, and later running, very slowly. There are lots of photographs from that time, but they are on a broken harddisk in a suitcase in Gaziantep. Maybe one day.

dawn7bebb8.jpg

And here lastly are some 包子 a steamin', a nutritious and healthy way to start some day. At least I think they are 包子, but without doubt steamed food is the way forward!

dawn82e5b5.jpg

Thank you for reading, or even for just looking at my pictures.

Sort:  

this small town looks much more laid back than the top tier Chinese cities.

Yes, it's definitely top tier, no coffee to had for one thing, but it's a relaxing place to spend the summer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62770.12
ETH 3467.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53