My temporary camping digital nomad set up July - August 2018…

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: My temporary camping digital nomad set up July - August 2018…


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Looking forward to hearing more about your solar setup, excluding the power inverter how much roughly did it set you back for all that if you don't mind me asking?

I've been thinking about cutting the final cord (other than power!) which is our phone line, and had a look at iD. I'm already with GiffGaff as they have a similar no contract deal, and their prices are identical to iD. The only difference is they offer an "unlimited" data package too for £25 (plus unlimited calls and texts). It's full 4G speed up to 20GB per month, and after that the speed is capped at 384kbps. For the extra fiver, I quite like the idea of knowing the internet will never cut out, even if the speed drops.

I found you through @SBI-Roulette, you've got a new follower!

With the battery box, leisure batter and solar panels it was about £320 - you could do it for about £100 less, I went for a 'delux' solar panel set up at £200 - a real plug and play version. I wanted something that just worked.

I'll post about it all shortly.

Thanks for the heads up with Giff Gaff I might just switch!

Karl.

Sounds really nice! Maybe you should have a look for a rooftop tent. It's possible to live there in winter, too! I practice it since nearly a year! Here are a lot of informations (unfortunately in German): Dachzeltnomaden.com

Hey thanks for link I will most definitely check it out! Sounds fascinating!

oh it is!

Such a cool portable solar power system. Great support especially like the outdoor experience that you probably adventure into resulting you to be so well-equipped. Congratulations! You have been added to the free dust upvote initiative where you get a dust upvote daily. This is a community support initiative. It does not cost you anything except to continue to produce quality article.

Great and thanks, must do a post on it some time, it's just a matter of getting round to it really. I'm finding that I'm spending a lot of time house hunting TBH!

Love this setup!

Gambling a bit with the solar panel in the UK aren't you? What a sweet addition though as long as the sun appears :)

Enjoy your travels.

Have you not seen the weather report in the UK recently? You're probably too young to remember the summer of '76, but it's the hottest, sunniest summer at least since then, I'm sick of that greasy sun-cream feel.

It's a 100W solar panel, even with heavy cloud that should be enough to power my lap top and phones and recharge the electric tooth brush.

It's my favourite purchase of the summer hands-down. I paid over the odds for the panels but they're were literally plug and play with a meter and a case, and very well constructed.

I really actually just want to get settled again now. Fortunately I've just had an offer accepted on a place, so shouldn't be too long.

Yep, before my time but I hear it mentioned often so have to believe it was a toasty one!

I would like to see more solar panels here. Yes having the water tank on the roof is good, but for 5/6 months a year im sure most of the island could run off solar.

That was quick on the house hunt! I envisioned you camping near potentials and spying on the general neighbourhood activity - binoculars optional 😊

Good luck and enjoy!

Having a vestibule in the tent really makes a difference. I bought a tent, bigger then I had set out to buy, but it had a big discount because it had been on display. Camping luxury! Especially as the first time I used it was in a very wet Wales (I don't think you're going to have that problem). We could be under cover while we were cooking, if needed, and there was somewhere to dump all our wet outdoor gear. I've lived out of my car boot a couple of times and it worked really well.
Be interested in what you're findng property wise.

We need so much less than we think when we take charge of our lives!

We're looking for a mobile internet connection as well. We'll need to have one we can use at home and in the caravan. Husband's work pays for it so we can't just up our mobile data (company phones are taxed here, company provided internet is not).

We've also been looking a tiny bit into solar for the caravan but it seems very expensive compared to the also expensive campsite electricity. I would love it for the mere self-sufficiency aspect.

I don't know much about solar though. How much (kWh) can your set-up provide in a certain timeframe if the weather is decent (not optimal, but average)?

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-6

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78