Knock, Knock...The Mystique of Doors.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

I think doors are functional objects that are also suspended imprints of emotion, captured in time. 

It's a deep thought. Worthy of some quiet reflection when you have some time to really ponder it.

Making an entrance on this planet and taking your exit from it, all happen via doors.

You come into this world and shortly after you're born, you are carried through one. When you die, your body is carried through one, too.

It's next to impossible to go very long without using one. 

Doors are a direct reflection of who we are and the era, in which we live. I think they say a lot about the people who currently own them and spend time behind them.

Some are traditional to a time period in history, some are beautiful works of art, some are classic and some are modern. 

Some invite you in, and are never locked. 

While others, directly communicate that you aren't welcome. You can tell when a door is off limits, immediately, just with a single glance. They convey that the only people who access them have a valid reason and a distinct purpose to do so.

Socially, I think doors are fascinating objects. 

This is a collection of Spanish doors, that I found particularly intriguing and very interesting.

Nice Handles and beautiful wood, with a window that is meant to let light in without compromising security.

A little more inviting.

This one conveys that tradition is important.

Historic and 2 doors within a larger door.

Classic elegance.

Reverence. 

Busy and retrofitted.

A decidedly French feel.

Beautiful tiles and wrought iron.

Ornate and massive.

Moorish.

Asian inspired with an Art Deco feel.

Off Limits

Back door...but historic.

Well used.

I couldn't resisted. It's the Woodstock.

Possibly Knights Templar. (Looked like their cross to me.)

A very tiny door.

The biggest set of...doors I have ever seen. ;)

Doors, functional objects that are truly interesting, if you take a moment to look and then another moment to think about.

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey. 

~ Rebecca Ryan


 

Sort:  

Hello @rebeccaryan,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you very much.

Very cool post. I love it! Do I smell a coffee table book in your future? There's a lot to write about when you travel isn't there?

Thanks @kus-knee! There sure is and I am trying to pick topics that are interesting so as not to bore anyone. There really are so many spin-off adventures that occur through travel, that I am confident that I could compile a book.
At the beginning of last year (2016), I decided that I was going to write a book. I named it and bought the domain name.
It's called "Before the Buzzards Circle". I intended it to be about transforming health...but then I joined Steemit and my writing is about so many topics these days...food, travel, cannabis, gardening...too tall toilets, saving old citrus juicers and now doors. LOL

All that variety keeps life interesting!

nice post

Doors are crazy cool, especially if you're this chick!

Awesome pics, @rebeccaryan. :)

LOL! Thanks @rigaronib! I was thinking of Alice when I took the photo of the tiny door. Thanks for finding and posting this scene shot. ;)

You bet! I love that movie. :)

what an extraordinary group of doors! I've always had a fascination with doors so I drank this up thirstily, thanks for the post.

You are most welcome @natureofbeing! I think doors provide very interesting subject matter. They always make me think about how many people have touched them, walked through them, locked and unlocked them and really spent time making their entrance and exit a reflection of themselves and their family. It is fascinating. :)

What a bunch of cool doors. Quite a collection. And those big doors, are, well, colossal. It would be pretty nifty to put a bunch of them in a frame together, as one image for the wall. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for commenting @ddschteinn!
I was thinking that I should do something with them. During our trip, I took around 60 different door shots, of ones that I was intrigued by.
I just think they're really cool. :)

Impressive pictures!!

I heard of the doors of perception, but not of the doors of emotion. You're right this is worthy of quiet reflection.

Also to ponder: is there something to the idea that we usually enter the door of life head first but that we exit it feet first?

That's a very good question @heroic15397.
I do know that, the practice of carrying someone out of a room after they have died is observed by many cultures. In Feng Shui, (Chinese philosophy of living with harmony) apparently you are not supposed to sleep on a bed with your feet pointing towards the door, for the reason that it mimics what happens when you are dead. I gather it's all about how energy flows or doesn't flow. Interesting topics for sure.

I didn't know about one's feet pointing towards the door being not recommended in Feng Shui. I thought that Feng Shui was mostly about the cardinal points. Not only do my feet point toward the door leading to my room, but they also lay toward the north. Don't know if it's also an inadvisable thing to do, but one thing is for sure: I'm kind of sleeping upside down with my head toward the south.

Apparently, according to Feng Shui...your entire bed placement is a thing. Directions matter and the goal is to position yourself for the optimal flow of chi energy. I'm not an expert but I have read a little bit about it. Position matters, plus the balance of elements. Something representing wood, metal, water, air. It's quite an art to getting everything harmonized. Very interesting.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 22 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53