You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knock, Knock...The Mystique of Doors.

in #travel8 years ago

Impressive pictures!!

I heard of the doors of perception, but not of the doors of emotion. You're right this is worthy of quiet reflection.

Also to ponder: is there something to the idea that we usually enter the door of life head first but that we exit it feet first?

Sort:  

That's a very good question @heroic15397.
I do know that, the practice of carrying someone out of a room after they have died is observed by many cultures. In Feng Shui, (Chinese philosophy of living with harmony) apparently you are not supposed to sleep on a bed with your feet pointing towards the door, for the reason that it mimics what happens when you are dead. I gather it's all about how energy flows or doesn't flow. Interesting topics for sure.

I didn't know about one's feet pointing towards the door being not recommended in Feng Shui. I thought that Feng Shui was mostly about the cardinal points. Not only do my feet point toward the door leading to my room, but they also lay toward the north. Don't know if it's also an inadvisable thing to do, but one thing is for sure: I'm kind of sleeping upside down with my head toward the south.

Apparently, according to Feng Shui...your entire bed placement is a thing. Directions matter and the goal is to position yourself for the optimal flow of chi energy. I'm not an expert but I have read a little bit about it. Position matters, plus the balance of elements. Something representing wood, metal, water, air. It's quite an art to getting everything harmonized. Very interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53