A tourist by any other name...

in #travel6 years ago

Being in a new epic place forces me to be a little more to plan better. I need to know what I'm gonna do each day so I won't miss as much as what I really want to see. That's normal, the time is limited and who knows if or ever I'll get back to that place.

The problem for me is that I want to go somewhere and live like a local to some extend. Get a real feel for living there not "seeing" the greatest hits. Take the subway. Eat in little known places. Fight over surcharges...

In the same time, I so want to see these amazing buildings, visit museum, shop the "I <3 city" stupid gift shop and gawk in wonder at all these amazing food places. And I carry a backpack and make 1000 photos...like a damn tourist that every local loves to hate. My touristy nature gets the best of me.

But I like to pretend. I go to some places off the beaten track. I do take the subway if I can. I call a local for a tip, a drink or anything else.

Above all else, I should be talking with more people and ask random recommendations. This could be a fun experiment to see where I land. As it happens, I am too shy and I do not hear that well to do that but would be amazing, right?!

So here I am, a tourists that is floating on two boats and maybe missing the fun of each. I guess it says something about myself as well. I'll see how it goes today :D

Sort:  

More Than you Can Think

Get 20 upvotes and 10 followers only for join the site.
The 20 upvotes worth 1SBD so why wait get it quickly before the campaign over.
CLICK HERE TO JOIN

where are you?

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Sometimes the pleasure does not necessarily have to be expensive and crowded place, people, pleasure it depends our passion

I find that cab drivers always know where the best places are, I've never been steered wrong by them, plus you are stuck in the car with them anyhow.

Enjoy it Raz :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61