A brief jaunt to Athens and a look at the Acropolis

in #travel6 years ago

I was lucky enough to spend a couple days in Athens!

To say it was awe-inspiring would be an understatement: It was something of a dream come true.

For history-geeks, this is what many would consider the birthplace of History/Historiography and highly-limited Democracy. Only land-owning, natively-born, men older than 20 could vote. Citizens were also obligated to fight in the case of war.

Here we have a couple of shots from the Parthenon of the Acropolis.

Acro.jpg

As far as I can tell the "Parthenon" was named after the "Virgin" Athena character. Interestingly, Athena did not give her name to Athens, but seems to have actually been NAMED AFTER the city. That's a doozy.

Acro2.jpg

Took a trip to Ithaka afterwards, I'll post some pictures soon!

Get in here!:

*Instagram

*My first BJJ technique video

*Introducing myself with my face and things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61472.96
ETH 2381.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56