Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.75399249241344
This post was voted: 100%

Vikings!! What a trip! I just got the ARC of a thoroughly researched history of the Vikings via NetGalley. Netflix has a TV series on Vikings, which my husband refuses to watch with me. :(
Love the detail on Viking ice skates and how this sort of thing, however apparently minor, is what brings historical fiction to life.
AWESOME!

Thanks Carol. I'm glad you enjoyed this article and that the quirky Viking - ice skate - fact excited the imagination. I love stuff like that and am working on a Viking short story that includes a few interesting little known minutia of Norse mythology + life, should be up on steemit within a week.

P.s. that book looks interesting and I've watched all the series of 'vikings' all about Ragnar Lothbrook... Absolutely love it ☺

P.s. sry for the late response. I'm away from home with no access to steemit other than my phone and rubbish WiFi.

Looking forward to your story, Raj - and hmmm, let's see, will I forgive your late response of almost 24 (ha!) hours? (Ha ha ha!) - um, yeah!

Ha ha. I was responding to a tone of comments from 5 days ago and forgot to check.

I always find it interesting how deeply woven the vikings are in English history.

Thanks to @viking-ventures, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Pretty fun and educative post! I clicked because I love history and discovering new things. I love how everything is so inter-connected and linked historically!
Keep posting, in these terrible crypto-winter times! :)

"Crypto-winter is coming" - @Ned Stark

Ohhh, it's long here already! I'm hoping we're about halfway through! :)

I've been stocking up for winter

Squirreling away the nuts and then all of a sudden....

Animated GIF-source.gif

😂

The second is too funny 😂 there could be so many juicy memes after this mess lol

Ha ha, yeah I shall keep posting through rain, snow and sleet.
Thanks for your comment pandorasbox, I'm glad this post piqued your interest :-)

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Lovely post - made me think of "winter is coming" - then I saw that I wasn't the only one!!

Ha ha... 'great minds think alike' @lizziesworld. Here a different viking styleee game of thrones gif to keep you going:

Good thing the vikings didn't have wildfire ;-)

Thanks for your comment

Thank you - you made my day!!

Really nice job on the post @raj808

Pirates, Romans and Vikings I find absolutely fascinating and exciting to learn about. They are clearly a huge part of our history and of our makeup.

The museum looks great and the interactivity is definitely the way to go. It makes it so much easier for kids to be involved and excited by it. I've always said that to capture the imaginations of children with history is difficult because you need to have your own history and understand yourself before you want to know where you've come from.

I love the TV shows Vikings and The Last Kingdom, both of which cover this period and the changing hands of Eoforwic and All Saints Day. They brilliantly blend historical fact and a little fiction to make entertaining shows.

Cheers, Gaz

Hi Gaz. Yeah, I feel the same about UK history being rich and especially for fantasy fiction setting research. I have to be honest History was never my subject in school but I have found myself drawn to it more and more from a research angle.

I love the series Vikings also and was actually surprised how historically accurate it is. Probably shouldn't have been so surprised given it is a history channel drama. The Last Kingdom is decent also but not quite as good as Vikings for me.

Cheers for the thoughtful comment mate, I'm glad you enjoyed the post :-)

P.s. that museum was real immersive and I'd recommend it for the kids if you ever make it to York... or Jorvik :-)

I have been to York but it was a long time ago. I would love to go back up there for a short break and take my daughter before she gets too old to spend time with the old man!

This makes me think of the nursery rhyme I chanted often as a child

"the grand old Duke of York
He had 10,000 men
he marched them to the top of the hill
and marched them down again.

So when you're up you're up
and when you're down you're down
and when you're only half way up
You're neither up not down'

:)

Ha ha, I used to sing that song as a child also :-) Small world!

@raj808 Thank you for another interesting story with photos! I have read and I have captured the spirit! I saw the story of the city and its capture by the Vikings with Ivar the Boneless in the TV series "Vikings". Just recently got another season and there were just these episodes. I read it with great pleasure and looked at the photo from the Museum.

Thanks @veta-less I'm glad you enjoyed reading this post :-)

I love the series Vikings also and was actually surprised how historically accurate it is. Probably shouldn't have been so surprised given it is a history channel drama. I have seen those episodes with Ivan the Boneless, I think they cast it really well. That actor does a really good psychopathic king act ;-)

@raj808 Oh, I'm only after "Vikings" had read the story of Lagertha, Ragnar, Ivar Besschetnova! I was surprised that these characters existed in the story. I like the historical surroundings and costumes, as well as the soundtrack. And Ivar, Yes...I'm a psychopath, I'm scared of him)

Wow such fabulous history, I really don't know about Jorvik and York's Viking Past really it seems like a whole new encyclopedia to me, wow what an amazing content you've written here, you're such a brilliant writer, well done

Glad you enjoyed the history of Jorvik/York and its Viking past josediccus and thank you for the lovely compliment. I have started to really enjoying making these longer history/travel posts which show my inspiration behind my poetry/fiction.

Also, well.... I'm pretty keen on viking history :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47