Thailand (Koh Sok) - Jungle Treks, Caves and Monkeys Madness

in #travel5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

SO beautiful! SO magical ! Wow~ I love the photos very much and the write up is done so wonderfully, you definitely gave me the adventuring spirits from this post * ___ *

Those huts on the water is absolutely incredible, and I love the jungle as much as I love the sea, and the vampire bats in that cave was WHOA !!!!!

Glad you enjoyed the adventurous memoirs verspider :)

and I love the jungle as much as I love the sea

me too mate. If I could live my perfect life it would be in the tropics in a nice eco-lodge on a beach next to a reef, backed with jungle to explore. I'd spearfish for dinner and forage in the jungle. Lol, not Bear Grylls style though, I'd have to have some modern things like internet, computer and running water in my eco-lodge ;-)

Thanks for stopping by :)

Cheers the the tag, it does look awesome. It's a possibility.

I've got a general plan of hooking up with a few other people to go touring after SF4 - I'm guessing at least some people are going to go Chang Mai/ around North Thailand - so I'll do that first, then head South for the last two weeks, I'll probably fly into Phuket and take it from there.

I've been eyeing up Koh Lanta as a possible destination to chill-out for 10 days just before I head back to Bangkok for my flight home.

I've already booked my flight from from Krabi to Bangkok on the 8th (fly back on the 9th). Next step is to book a nice hotel in Bangkok the final night and I might book a 10 day stay in Koh Lanta next couple of days unless you warn me off it or have any better suggestions!

I really don't want to do anything other than sit on a beach TBH!

Sounds like a cool itinerary, and very similar to what I did.

Well, final tagging on my next in this series them m8.... and I'll stop after that 😉

Next post will be about koh lanta (which I visited on a holiday romance) and another place near to Krabi that is absolutely breathtaking.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh you'll have your rose tinted spectacles on the for Koh Lanta post for sure then. According to the latest lonely Planet, it's not quite as chill as it was back in the day! Still looks better than the party zone which I understand is South East rather than South West?

Ha ha, yeah... the rose tinted specs will be on, although as I remember Linda had a cold at that point so it wasn't very romantic. But then she got over it and we moved on to Karon beach in Phuket. Lol, she was head receptionist at the Hilton in Stockholm... so I ended up staying in a penthouses room in Karon beach Hilton with her as my final place before flying back to Bangkok and then home.

I'd been straight up backpacking budget style before I met her so it was a nice luxury ending to my trip 😂

it's not quite as chill as it was back in the day! Still looks better than the party zone which I understand is South East rather than South West?

We were in the north of the third island, Phra Ae beach. It was really chilled out there... but this was in 2010!

Sitting on a beach sounds amazing. I went to Krabi years ago - about 20 years ago now, where the flying fark does the time go? I bet it's different now. I also liked a little place called Hat Jo Mai I think, but that might be further south than you want to go. fond memories of Thailand - I should find my photos and write about it one day I guess, I'm sure there's a steempost in there! Lol.

I went to Krabi years ago - about 20 years ago now, where the flying fark does the time go?

I know right? I loved Krabi.. and particularly a place called Railay which I'm going to write about in the next post and try to convince Karl to go there instead of Koh Lanta ;-)

I know what you mean about time... it's now 30 years since I left compulsory education! This time In 1989 I would have chillaxing after my GCSEs, no internet, no mobile.

There's more than one Steempost in there I'm sure!

I am fully expecting it to be quite touristy and Westernised, just with better weather and food.

Me too! 1989 i was 18! I wish we didnt have technology sometimes. Itd be nice to travel without it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Travelling without tech - the closest I'll get is leaving my laptop behind for 5 weeks when I head to SF4 - I'll just take my phone and ipad (and collapsable keyboard) - much easier to keep secure.

You're two years older than me then!

Are you coming to SF4 btw?

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you @helpiecake and @vibesforlife

I really appreciate the curation :)

Fabulous post! That's just the kind of adventure that I love! I hope you didn't overtip that guide. He did get you out alive, but was all that mentioning of the tarantulas really necessary?? So those huts you stayed in were floating on the water? I'd have to check that bedding really well before crawling into it, lol. You did great getting all those shots of the monkeys in spite of the fact with paddling and trying not to drop your camera in the water.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the adventure blueeyes8960 :)

but was all that mentioning of the tarantulas really necessary.

I know right!! I don't think he took it seriously lol Macho type.

So those huts you stayed in were floating on the water?

Yes they were, and believe me I pulled all the mattresses up to check for any monster spiders and checked the rafters ;-) But it was pretty safe out there from insects as there were no overhanging trees. It really was a magical place to stay. I remember waking up one night after having a few too many beers and the humidity was really bad... so I just walked out of the hut in the buff and jumped in the lake. That cleared my head and cooled me down lol

Oh wow...
I think I'm about the nearest to Thailand but am ashamed to admit I have not had the chance to step across the border into it! Much less, Koh Sok!

I totally enjoyed all photos and writings, and will be back to catch up on the other posts... Cheers!

I hope you make it to Koh Sok one day ackhoo. It was one of my favorite places in 3 months of travelling the length of Thailand :-)

Oh gosh, what fun. That would be cool to see a sun bear! Monkeys are such fun. We saw some on our trip to Mexico in the spring. They loved hanging around the zip lines in a jungle park we went to, and as you said, they had a great time monkeying around!

Monkeys are such fun. We saw some on our trip to Mexico in the spring. They loved hanging around the zip lines in a jungle park we went to

That sounds awesome jayna, I never saw monkeys when I went to mexico.

Yeah, I really enjoyed stalking the monkeys in Koh Sok... it kind of felt like hunting but the goal was jsut to get some pics. that's the type of hunting I can get behind :)

I like the shorter posts these days, and you still put together a quality post!!! I wouldn't worry about that. People appreciate a short post - who's got time to read long ones like mine lol!! I TRY to write shorter ones and fail.

I loved Thailand - it's been years since I've been though. Bat caves everywhere! I'd love to go again. I wish I could go to SF4, if only they'd delayed it two weeks and I could have gone. Dammit.

By the way, hit that follow button babe -- I really thought I was following you!

I like the shorter posts these days, and you still put together a quality post!!! I wouldn't worry about that.

ha ha, well this one ended up being nearly 1000 words anyway lol. I think I have the same writers bug as you riverflows ;-)

I wish I could go to SF4, if only they'd delayed it two weeks and I could have gone. Dammit.

That is a shame. I'm still very touch and go if I'll make it. Financial probelms.... but I'm gonna do everything I can to make it happen :)

By the way, hit that follow button babe -- I really thought I was following you!

No worries hun. I appreciate the follow :)

Hi @raj808!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.608 which ranks you at #1758 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1749).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #17.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78