You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Solo trip to Sinai: crystal-clear Red Sea water, and local view on harassment

in #travel7 years ago

Hi @katarinamiliv, I absolutely love the red sea area of Egypt, Sinai straits mainly for the marine life as I am an avid scuba diver. Snorkeling too is amazing there and if I'm not below breathing with my iron lung I'm above finning across the reef. I love your pic's they are reminding me of my trips and making me want to return soon. I have been sharm twice and Dahab once and have noticed the behaviour you mention. The men are relentless and they seem to have the view that their behaviour is normal.

What I would say is that, although you shouldn't have to put up with it in the first place, the guys in Egypt are just chancers for the main part. What I mean by that is they will always try flirting with a western woman, being overly familiar etc but if you stick to your guns and tell them you're not interested they will back down eventually. It is crap that you even have to put up with the constant attention at all but it looks like your finding your feet and looking out for yourself really well. Safe travels 🙂 🌄

Sort:  

Hey @raj808, thank you for the comment, and I absolutely agree with you about Egyptians. It was my first time there, so that is why I got so confused. It's pity I wanted to dive there, but couldn't, because every diving instructor with whom I agreed to dive would ask me to hold hands saying they want to be friends. O.o :D

Anyways, yes, it's amazing environment and sea, and worthy of coming back. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69460.30
ETH 3372.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74