Solo trip to Sinai: crystal-clear Red Sea water, and local view on harassment

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

How did it all start? Here's the link to my first post about my trip to Sinai.


Unthankful for a free hug from the hostel boss!


After getting a generous hug from the hostel boss right after I arrived to Dahab, he continued approaching me at every step, wanting to talk and offering his help about anything. He said he wants to be my friend (typical for Egyptian men). I wasn't sure how to react, so I tried to avoid him, but he was always around or sending me messages. It all made me feel very confused and intimidated, and due to fact that I was seeing only Egyptian men and very few women in burqas in the small and calm area where I was staying, I was afraid that everyone around would bother me for being a solo blond girl there, and I felt like it was a very wrong decision to go there alone as a girl.

On the second day I decided to walk around the place a bit more, went to some beach bar, and, again, I didn't see any European-like tourists, felt lonely and with no support in such place, and with no enthusiasm to stay.


However, besides all the drama, I found a short moment of self-confidence to take a beach-bar selfie :D


A cat in a restaurant, totally careless about my actual worries :D


Liberal Egypt and local view on harassment


Due to the strong feelings of fear and awkwardness, I decided to take some action 'behind the scenes' and to write a post in some Facebook group for female travellers asking if there was anybody in Dahab at that moment willing to meet me. It happened that one local woman saw my post and invited me to meet her and her friends at the beach bar.

She and her friends were very nice and chill, and with great sense of humor. I probably seemed silly to them with my fear of the place, although they reacted with empathy to what I told them, agreeing that it's very weird and rude of the hostel boss to constantly 'attack' my personal space. They told me that Egypt is actually very liberal, that harassment is as rare as in any other place. And then, the women there casually mentioned a few recent stories of random men trying to touch them in the water. So yea, no harassment at all!

Anyways, meeting the first locals made me feel more safe and connected to the place. They agreed that I shouldn't take any organized tours around until I get to know other tourists and make some friends, because it can be dangerous going with the people I didn't know (because - there is no harassment there, right? :D). Also, they told me lots of stories about the history of Egypt, about the conflict with the Jews, about the 2011 revolution, terrorism, safety, lifestyle, and attractions to visit. I am very happy that I got to know the perspective on the things happening around the Middle East from the educated locals' point of view, as it is something you cannot just google - you really need to meet locals and ask questions.

I felt much relaxed and confident after meeting the first locals, and in such a small, chill and socially alive vibe like in Dahab you get to know lots of people very quickly. Very soon I told openly to the hostel boss how I felt about his behavior, that it scared me, and that he should have stopped with it and have some respect. He was sorry and said that he just liked me as a person and wanted to be my friend, he showed me the pictures of his family, and I took it as he said - that he simply wants to be friends. He also said that there is no harassment in Sinai, but that if somebody bothers me I should tell him. Very soon he kindly invited me to come to his office in the late evening to drink (very romantic, right? :D).


Enjoying the Red Sea with the view on Saudi Arabia


During the next one or two weeks I really got to know the place better, and I approached all the new things just with curiosity. Days felt simple and relaxing. I got to know a few younger Egyptians and three other solo travellers who were in Dahab at the moment. Most of the time I spent at the beach bars, eating great tahini, drinking fruit shakes, and, of course, swimming and snorkelling in the sea with maybe the richest vegetation on the planet. Moreover, swimming while looking at the Saudi Arabia at the other side of the sea made me feel more secure for being alone in Egypt!


Here are the pictures of the environment.


Amazing view on Mount Sinai


This is how the coast around looks like :)


A kid playing :)


A kid having a view on Saudi Arabia!!


View from a beach bar


Crystal-clear water of Red Sea


The city centre full of beach bars, restaurants, clubs, small shops, and diving centres (image 'stolen' from http://redcvillas.co.uk/about-dahab/)


Dahab around the evening


Sort:  

Hi @katarinamiliv, I absolutely love the red sea area of Egypt, Sinai straits mainly for the marine life as I am an avid scuba diver. Snorkeling too is amazing there and if I'm not below breathing with my iron lung I'm above finning across the reef. I love your pic's they are reminding me of my trips and making me want to return soon. I have been sharm twice and Dahab once and have noticed the behaviour you mention. The men are relentless and they seem to have the view that their behaviour is normal.

What I would say is that, although you shouldn't have to put up with it in the first place, the guys in Egypt are just chancers for the main part. What I mean by that is they will always try flirting with a western woman, being overly familiar etc but if you stick to your guns and tell them you're not interested they will back down eventually. It is crap that you even have to put up with the constant attention at all but it looks like your finding your feet and looking out for yourself really well. Safe travels 🙂 🌄

Hey @raj808, thank you for the comment, and I absolutely agree with you about Egyptians. It was my first time there, so that is why I got so confused. It's pity I wanted to dive there, but couldn't, because every diving instructor with whom I agreed to dive would ask me to hold hands saying they want to be friends. O.o :D

Anyways, yes, it's amazing environment and sea, and worthy of coming back. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57810.80
ETH 3056.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24