An adventurous trip to an underrated place - 카파도키아에 가본 적이 있어요?

in #travel6 years ago

Centuries ago, about 3 volcanic eruptions occurred in this place, which caused the rocks to be shaped the way they are shaped today. Alexander the Great even tried to rule this area, followed by the Romans.

What I didn't know before going there was the fact that the Romans carved the rocks to make caves, and used them not just as shelter, but also as tombs. Luckily, I learned this fact on my last day there, as I was already spooked enough by the city anyway. drumroll

IMG_2005.JPG

THIS is Cappadocia!

And that's me posing in front of the Open Air Museum which contains over 30 carved-in-rock churches.

IMG_1892.JPG

BEFORE that however, I decided to take a 2-hour horse ride through the valleys and mountains of Cappadocia. Now although they tell you it's an amazing experience, they sure don't tell you anything about safety measures. I was given a helmet, and told that if I want the horse to stop, I have to pull the ropes from both sides very hard.

Well, the horse didn't listen, and threw me off its back, and luckily, I didn't break any bones. Now THAT was an unforgettable experience.

IMG_1905.JPG

These are some pics I was able to take WHILE I was on the horse!

IMG_1942.JPG

The next day, I woke up to a beautiful snow-covered Cappadocia:

IMG_2060.JPG

Only to end the day with an ATV getting stuck in the snow and freezing to death while waiting for someone to help us.

IMG_2087.JPG

BUT! It was still fun. Either way I enjoyed my time.

My advice for those who want to go there?
Go for one day. It's more than enough to do everything you want to do. The town is small (and spooky :D) so it's quite easy to do everything in one day!

follow me @raisinbran for more adventures and weird stories

Sort:  

What an adventure! I will remember this if I ever get to go to Cappadocia. Thanks for the advice.

Awesome! It's a must-see for sure! I have another advice: if you decide to ride a horse, be extra careful. There are no safety measures whatsoever. And don't forget to go on a hot air balloon ride :)

girl, this looks amazing! Come on with your weird stories please. Love reading them 😆❤️

hahaha thanks Kim! I totally need your encouragement. I have been so busy, and to be honest, sometimes unmotivated to post on steemit. But thanks a lot for your comment! <3

You should promote your posts so you can build up your steempower and your whole account actually. Will text you later ;).

Just saw this comment. lol thanks Kim :)
It's hard to stay committed.

Congratulations @raisinbran! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42