My lavender week in France part #1 : ...too bad French people live there...

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 20180722 at 18.32.14.png
Getting to where it is all supposed to start

This is a bloody mess!

Writer's block can be nasty. Especially if it hits you straight after your return from an amazing trip. It might have been the huge amount of videos, pictures and stories I brought home with me that was too overwhelming. I just didn't know where to start and I kept postponing blogging.

To give you an idea, let me introduce you to a draft of my lavender trip plans. I combined a few nice shorter lavender routes and hotspots into 1 map and it became a bit of a mess. Due to work issues, my travel plans had to be postponed. Luckily I didn't have any hotels booked yet. But when at some point everything changes again and you realise you are about to go on holidays "tomorrow", it is challenging to turn this into something somewhat feasible before hitting the road.

Screen Shot 20180722 at 18.46.20.png
The Draft

All I knew was that I wanted to start 'road-tripping' west of Grenoble, since this was where I marked the Route de Presles as a "must drive". This was already 1100 kilometres away from Amsterdam. Due to lack of planning time, I decided to just focus on getting there first. Booking a hotel near Presles, driving there and then go from there!

Driving, driving and more driving... And some road rage

I booked a hotel in Saint-Marcellin, packed my suitcase, threw it in the car and started driving. It was the afternoon but since I am very much a night person, I wasn't too worried. First stop would be about 5 hours away so I'd be there before midnight. I learned while driving to Cologne that a 3-hour drive was a piece of cake so I was confident.

_DSC7867.jpg

I won't bore you with a story of me driving the highway in the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg and France. It is just the same as everywhere else... cars and asphalt. I had a quick dinner halfway and slept in the cheapest and dodgiest Formula1 hotel that I could find. I took a fair amount of breaks for fresh air and leg stretching and was mentally prepared for the second bit: The Péage!

The Péage is the toll road system that the French have. You can, of course, avoid it, but that will take you much longer to get to your destination. So I grabbed my credit card and drove most of my second day on a toll-road.

My dad always says "France is a beautiful country, but it's a shame French people live there". And unfortunately, I had my first encounter with those kinds of "French" on the Péage. Somehow a massive traffic jam happened in front of the toll booths. It was messy and there were more queues with cars than there were booths. And somehow I managed to get two shitty French dudes next to me thinking they could sneak their car before me while I had been waiting forever already. I think they were driving an Audi or something similar. An expensive and intimidating car with some intimidating guys in it. On the other side was me... a dark-blonde haired woman all by herself in a tiny Italian Fiat 500. They started driving their car towards me, trying to push me out and back off. However, they didn't know my car is very well insured and I gave zero fucks. So I turned my steering wheel towards them instead of giving them space. And that made them go mental! They opened their window and started yelling that I had to let them in before me. I told them no and to wait their turn behind me and I closed the gap with the car in front of me to make it impossible for them to enter.

It became a bit of a scary situation and it went on forever (at least 5 minutes). They were sort of criminal looking and very intimidating. But at that point, I was already pumping with adrenaline and thinking that these guys should not get away with this (not now, not ever). They started knocking on my window (yeah, they were that close) and that was when I decided to grab my camera and take some pictures of them. As you can see, they didn't like that one bit! Somehow, they gave in after that and gave me all the room I needed. I did check my mirrors after that to see if they were following me, but they weren't. I didn't see them again!

_DSC78732.jpg
Look at the ONET guy checking out the drama

Saint-Marcellin

You can imagine that I was pretty relieved when I made it to my hotel in Saint-Marcellin shortly after that. I needed a bit of a break from driving. Dropped my stuff and started exploring the town a little.

_DSC7913.jpg

It has only about 8000 inhabitants and that already tells a lot. It was quiet and could be explored in an hour by foot. I had dinner and was triggered by a sign saying "Promenade de Joud Panorama" with a steep looking staircase at the end of the alley.

The stairs were never ending! But it was worth it! The view from the top of the town and also the valley was a nice gift to end my highway-driving days. This was a sneak peek of what was about to come in the coming week.

At that moment, standing there, I forgot about the 2 French guys. In return, I got 2 French street-dogs that started following me around town. A town that doesn't have much to offer, except for their famous cheese named after the town. I didn't get the chance to try an original piece there, but if you like cheese, you should certainly try it out one day!

_DSC7914.jpg

_DSC7924.jpg

_DSC7930.jpg

It was time to head back to the hotel and get the rest of my travel plans figured out. I found an apartment that I would be using for the next few days and the road trips for a few days! I charged all my gadgets and fell asleep...

The next day I would start the Route de Presles. The image of that road (mentioned on a website with "dangerous roads") made me pretty nervous about it. I had no experience driving mountains or cliffs with this car yet and the next day I was about to just start with a "dangerous" one. Spoiler alert: I survived! But more about my car driving the cliffs and narrow roads in the next blog!

linerose.png

Also in this series:

  • Nothing yet... just follow me for the rest of the story!

steemitbanner.png

Sort:  

The title really caught me and @eoj attention! Very clever and funny, the content was even funnier. Looking forward to your next post! Would love to see those danger signs though!

The French aren't throwing around the danger signs like the US do, though... don't get your hopes up :)

As it seems that you travelled alone, next time bring along a dashboard cam for safety.
Too bad you didn't try the cheese tho...And... I was looking for pictures of those two dogs following you, did you take any?

Looking forward to the rest of the trip!

No, the dogs were very gross and made me feel very uncomfortable. Decided not to give them any attention to let them leave asap. Didn't really work. But eventually, they did give up (thank god).
A dashcam wouldn't have recorded this because it happened next to me. But I might have a surprise coming up ;)

:') Taking their pictures was a brilliant move! They have no idea what you'll do with the pictures lol! Next time I would do it with the phone maybe so they would be even more scared (does she livestream it to facebook? Will she WhatsApp it to the local police? :D)

Curious to see the Lavender shots!

the phone was being used as a tomtom, so not very available ;) I was very surprised how effective the camera was :D

What you call 'draft' is actually a great detailed plan, waiting for the next post and to see if you quarrel with others French during the trip :D

You can't pick enough fights with some people ;)

Nice post, curious to see the next episode. I think you took a lot of time to prepare your trip.

I hope I didn't hurt your feelings with the "French people" joke ;)

Don't worry you didn't, I live at 10,000km from there now hahaha ;)

It probably also isn't the first time you hear something like this anyway :D

nothing better than a small car for narrow roads :D not sure how fica is handling mountains.

Fica will do fine :)

You just needed to organise everything in your head before you started to write girl ;))

I think you just ran into 2 jackasses there on the highway..testosteron is everywhere!

Yeah, I think you're right about the organising :) It still is a mess but at least I have the first bit out now!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

PS: Did you know that you can support TravelFeed by claiming your free Byteball Bytes?

Dear @r00sj3,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 SBD reward biweekly contest.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=r00sj3
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-lavender-week-in-france-part-1-too-bad-french-people-live-there


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55826.71
ETH 2298.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39