Exploring the Golden State #1: Northern Highway One, Avenue of the Giants, The Lost Coast, Eureka!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

P1070555.jpeg

San Francisco was my home for three months. And I went downtown every day or studied at my temporary home, minutes away from the Golden Gate Bridge. The end of my adventure was nearing and I told myself that it would be embarrassing to return home without seeing California. My rental car was collecting dust in front of the house and I had the weekend off. I noticed that there was this city called Eureka north of San Francisco and since I am pretty geeky (and loved the Eureka tv show) I just had to go see it.

I booked a hotel in Garberville, some 320 kilometres north of San Francisco and drove there Friday evening. The town wasn't impressive at all, but they do know how to prepare a good steak there! It was a good base for my weekend. The next morning it was time to explore.

Saturday

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 22.56.37.png
Saturday route

The starting point is where the H is (blocking the A). Of course, I didn't prepare that well... all I knew was that I wanted to go see Mattole Beach (D) and some friends told me to make sure that I would see Ferndale (F). The plan was to take the 101 North and take a left turn near Weott (C) into the forest.

Already pretty early on the 101, I saw signs saying "Avenue of the Giants", which did totally trigger my curiosity. I took the turn (B) and ended up in an unimaginable landscape if you are used to the young forests that the Netherlands have. I felt instantly tiny and had to stop multiple times to see the size of these trees up close. At Weott (C) I turned left and started a small adventure.


Avenue of the Giants & Bull Creek

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 19.43.42.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 19.51.55.png

I was on my way to Mattole Beach (D) and I was slowly running out of petrol. I am used to seeing a gas station almost every 5 kilometres, but I couldn't find any. I was in the middle of nowhere, enjoying the view and in the meantime trying to calculate if I had to turn back or if I was able to find a station near Mattole. Eventually, I found a very local station that helped me out and I could chill and continue to the beach.

Getting closer to my destination, I found the street flooded due to a nearby river and I was nervous if it was smart to continue. At some point, I wasn't able to get closer and I walked for the last bit. But it was worth it! This beach was windy and empty, apart from the dead trees lying around. But after reading the warning sign that there might be bears around, I decided to turn around and continue to Ferndale.

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 19.54.55.png
Mattole Beach

The road to Mattole Beach is a one-way street, so I had to turn around and drive back, looking for a normal asphalted road. I was driving around, not seeing any oceans, just trees and hills. And just when it started to bore me, I went around the corner and drove into the light and there it was: The ocean! The following kilometres the road followed the edge of the ocean on my way to Lost Coast (E). I tried hard not to drive into the ocean while admiring the view!

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 20.00.33.png
On my way to Lost Coast, leaving the shadow

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 20.03.45.png
Lost Coast in the distance


At this moment, I have overdosed with impressions. I didn't stop that often anymore and I continued driving to Ferndale so I could soon call it a day. But I promised myself to visit Eureka. Which was so disappointing that I won't show you any photos of that ;) I drove back to Garberville, again taking the Avenue of the Giants. It was pretty scary in the dark but I am happy I saw it twice!!

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 20.07.13.png
Ferndale

Sunday

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 22.38.17.png
Sunday route

I slept like a baby that night. And now I had to return to San Francisco. The coastal route was so impressive that I decided to continue that way. But not before I found a way to drive my car through a tree. Luckily I found one at Leggett (B)

P1070545.jpeg
Never skip a chance to do a drive-thru

From that moment, I didn't have any plans other than driving south along the coast and see if I could find San Francisco again. The weather changed many times during this part of the trip, which was pretty odd. I enjoyed the gorgeous views in Mendocino County (although slightly sad that I wasn't allowed to come closer to the lighthouse).

P1070588.jpeg
The Mendocino Lighthouse

P1070603.jpeg
Mendocino County

P1070596.jpeg
Mendocino County

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 23.09.06.png
Cypress Grove


While I was driving, a friend of mine texted me to check out the Oyster bars near Cypress Grove. I don't like seafood that much and was already pretty tired. But I decided to quickly snap a picture so I could prove to him that I had been there. The Cypress Grove area is pretty amazing. Not that long after I passed the Oyster bars, I ran into a huge pile of seals in Tomales Bay.

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 23.07.20.png
Cypress Grove

I was getting closer to home though and just wanted to eat something, kick off my shoes and do nothing. Not that long after, I was happy to see San Francisco in the distance and I knew that I made it. Which sounds a bit over dramatic, but it was a pretty intense drive that weekend. As soon as I reached the Golden Gate Bridge, it was already dark. This gave me an amazing opportunity to take a picture of the San Francisco skyline at night. But there were so many other people trying to take that photo that there was no room for me to park my car. Or it was just an excuse... I was home ;)

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 23.06.00.png
"Almost there, I can see San Francisco!!"


Sorry that this post became a little long. But the view changed so many times... I didn't know what photos not to put in here

Sort:  

BEAUTIFUL sightseeing! I have never been to California and thank you for sharing your weekend journey!

Thank you! Hope I inspired you to go there one day ;)

I could tell you really worked on that post. Good job. San Francisco looks amazing!

Thank you for noticing ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by r00sj3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

really wonderful shots hope you enjoy the jurney

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.80 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.16
Server time: 01:00:38
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 143.50/200.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 40
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.75 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=r00sj3
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-the-golden-state-1-northern-highway-one-avenue-of-the-giants-the-lost-coast-eureka


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

What a wonderful post and great pictures!
You must have had a marvelous time being there!

xxx
Snekky

yes, it was amazing. I will def return!! Thank you :)

Never skip a chance to do a drive-thru

My vehicle 100% will not fit through :-/ but if i visit I will get out and walk through it :-)

I was sooooo nervous to get stuck ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39