We gave up everything for the simple life. Part II

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

In my first post (Part I) I said I would tell you more about why we chose Guatemala to move to after selling our home and nearly all our possessions. So, that's what I'm going to do here. Fist, the reason we moved internationally we to fulfill the dream we have had for a long time. Our goal was to use that time to figure out the next stage of our lives while soaking in another culture. We really wanted to feel like we LIVED somewhere else, not just visited on vacation. We wanted to live like locals, make local friends and make the place a home to ourselves.
We chose Guatemala and more specifically Antigua, Guatemala as hour home base because in all of our travels around the world it was the place we felt like we would want to stay for an extended amount of time. It's inexpensive so we could live really well there and there are so many places to visit nearby that are incredibly beautiful and so much rich culture. We immediately made terrific local friends and felt at home. Went we weren't out on adventures we were planning our migration to homesteading life on the farm in the mountains of Virginia.

If you are thinking of spending some time in Guatemala, I'll share some areas you just can't miss. I hope to go into each one in more depth later. First off, Antigua is an absolutely the most picturesque Spanish colonial town in the wold. In 1733 an earthquake struck the town and it was completely abandoned. It wasn't until the late 1800's that people started to return. So the city in many ways is exactly as it was in 1733 with huge cathedrals still sitting as they were when damaged by earthquake nearly 300 years ago. Add to this incredible architecture the surrounding volcanoes and it's completely amazing. There are 3 volcanoes surrounding this one town and many more in the country.

Next we have Lago de Atitlan (Lake Atitlan) which has been described as the most beautiful lake in the world since it was made known globally in the 70's. Imagine a pristine, crystal clear lake that's nearly 2000 feet deep and surrounding by volcanoes on it's shores! The shoreline is dotted with villages and each one has it's own personality. There are no roads, you just take boat taxis everywhere you go.

Lake Atitlan is truly breathtaking!

Chichicastenango is another village worth visiting. It hasn't changed in hundreds of years and is known for a huge market full of hand made crafts and wonderful food.

Monterrico beach is a black sand beach with some great inland mangrove you can take a boat tour through. You can also work with sea turtles depending on the time of year. This is an incredibly laid back area without a lot of development so plan on spending a lot of time relaxing and just soaking it all in.

The people are exceptionally nice in Guatemala and made us feel at home. Some of the nicest in the world I guarantee you. These are all the reasons we love the country.

Be sure to follow us. Next up is our move back to the states to a farm in the Appalachian mountains where we live in a barn while building our dream home.

Sort:  

Wow, I really admire this. I am dreaming of living somewhere else too. Thanks for your post!

Thank you. it's worth the worry to just do it!

I missed part one and will be going back to read it now.

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Awesome to see that group. Thanks, I will check it out more shortly!

Thanks, I joined. It seems like a great group.

hola! I like your post! Thanks for it! I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? I also just wrote a introduce yourself. Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://busy.org/introduceyourself/@mykarma/1-jail-review-bitcoins-3-years-ago

Interesting post. I'll follow for sure. I'm not familiar with Busy.org is it related to steemit somehow or do you need a new account?

Just the type of blog I like to follow. I am envious of the freedom you have given yourself. Quitting a job isn’t always the easiest choice but many times it can be the best choice. I dislike the rate race we are seemingly forced into living. You definitely don’t need money to be rich. Happy Steeming!

Thank you. That means a lot since it's just my second post. We are much happier now for sure even though we watch our pennies.

NEW ON STEEMIT @NITESHBANIYA
I WILL HELP YOU TO MAKE follower @NITESHBANIYA
Hello and welcome to the community. I followed you and would appreciate a follow back. I'm @REECHA looking forward to see more posts! Have a great day and have fun. Welcome!!!!@NITESHBANIYA

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow @niteshbaniya
get back to back in touch for upvote
@REECHA

Thanks for sharing your adventures :) I live the homesteader lifestyle and dream of traveling - one day maybe :)

It can be a tough mix. We are already talking about who we will find to take care of the farm when we travel. Luckily we have some homesteading neighbors we trade favors with but I wouldn't want to wear that out. Traveling to meet people and learn other cultures is one of life's great joys for us.

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 10700 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program. APPICS is a new social community based on Steem. The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon. You can get a account over our invite link: https://ico.appics.com/login?referral=1fRdrJIW

@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57