๐Ÿ’ Restaurant Review: Lola's Long Street ๐Ÿ’

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Today I found myself lost in a daydream, wandering around my memories of ten years ago. I was in Long Street for work, and stopped for lunch at Lola's.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-14 at 22.27.54 (1).jpeg

Ten years ago, I had just moved to Cape Town, at the age of twenty-one, after a stint overseas. @morkrock and I lived in a tiny bachelor apartment, walked everywhere, drank beer at 11am and smoked way too much weed. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚I worked as a duty manager in a small hotel, and waitressed at night, and @morkrock was working at internet cafe, way before Twitter and Instagram. The hotel I worked at was smack bang in the middle of Long Street, and immersed me in the alternative, Bohemian, different from anything I had ever known culture that Long St at the time.

For those of you, unfamiliar with Cape Town and the vibe; Long Street is an iconic street running down the centre of Cape Town, filled with restaurants, clubs, bars and clothing stores. Anything can happen in Long street, from proper jolling/party sessions, to checking out bands, sampling a street curry, or finding a vintage Prada moonbag.

1393676_10152824360272975_5822486217040684727_n.jpg

This was my life back then; working way too much for way too little money, partying my face off with some crazy people, riding the city flat with my cheapass bicycle, falling in love with someone who would become my forever person. I remember Mork telling me, "One day we'll look back on this and remember this tiny flat fondly, and laugh about how poor we were." And, you know, we do. We look back and remember it all. We remember the ones we've lost along the way, the friends who have become family, the city we once knew. Being in Lola's today took me straight back there, and it was a welcome reverie for today's busy, much older, much more tired me.

35433_439937627974_7164187_n.jpg

Lola's has always been part of the Long Street vibe. I remember back in 2008 when I was a wannabe blogger, I wrote a post about the restaurant for my Blogger.com site.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-14 at 22.27.54 (2).jpeg

Back in the day, when everyone had dreadlocks and multiple facial piercings, Lola's was one of the first all vegetarian restaurants in Cape Town. I loved going there, I had never heard of a meat-free restaurant.

Nowadays, Lola's is just as cool, but with a more grown up vibe; a proper chef's menu, gorgeous interiors and quirky art for sale on the walls.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-14 at 22.27.20 (4).jpeg

I ordered an iced coffee, which was the real deal (in my opinion at least); proper espresso blitzed with ice into a frappe kind of situation. It was perfect and quenched my thirst in the insane heatwave we are having.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-14 at 22.32.18.jpeg

The menu was well thought out and had some sublime offerings. Of course, I chose the falafel burger. If you follow my blog, you will know how much I love chickpeas, falafels and hummus. I thought the meal was perfect.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-14 at 22.27.20 (2).jpeg

The hummus was homemade, creamy with a tiny zing of tahini. The salsa was slightly Mexican inspired with coriander (cilantro), red onion and diced tomato, and the falafel itself was pretty phenomenal. Moist, flavourful and well seasoned. I was really impressed.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-14 at 22.27.20 (1).jpeg

It was so lovely to sit in the shade, out on the pavement, watching the people go by. Artists, skateboarders, tourists, students and hospitality employees milled up and down the street. The sun was shining brightly, and my iced coffee was deliciously cold.

C'est La Belle Vie

IMG_0384.GIF

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort: ย 

โ€œYou go girlโ€. I think i mightive enjoyed getting shitfaced with you back on the day. I dont know, im just saying, in my mind...I believe we wouldve been good drunk buddies. Lol

Hahha probably! I would have been fascinated with your accent, I can tell you that.

I need to visit Cape Town some day...

Nice article. The food sounds good too.
Love the last pic/gif with the fading people and bus

Thank you very much, thatโ€™s a lovely comment!

Love the presentation of the dish, looks really appetizing:)

์Œ์‹์ด ์•„์ฃผ ๋ง›์žˆ๊ฒ ๋„ค์š”.
๋ฐฐ๊ฐ€๊ณ ํ”ˆ๋ฐ ๋น„์Šทํ•œ ์Œ์‹์„ ๋จน์–ด์•ผ ๊ฒ ๋„ค์š”.

friend votes My photos
And follow me

I had no idea you and Mork were together! You guys are like the Steemit dream couple!

Hahahha, omg thatโ€™s hilarious! Yeah he my bebes!

Like honestly I was talking to him a week or so ago in the Adsactly channel and he is pretty darn nice! You got a nice catch!

Lulz. Glad you guys got to chat ๐Ÿ’“he is pretty nice

Do you guys have anything special planned for today? Other than lunch at lolas?

Nope! Itโ€™s 01:30 am now, so probably just sleeping!

We love each other everyday lol.

And you ? Dinner plans?

Nope nothing today! Lacey has a exam tomorrow! But after that exam we might do something small! probably have some popcorn and watch a movie!

Cool! Enjoy! ๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’“

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=princessmewmew
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=restaurant-review-lola-s-long-street


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great read and your pictures look amazing

Thank you ๐Ÿ˜‰

Fabulous article about a delicious cake can you give me a recipie of this cake @princessmewmew i want to try it and enjoy this delicious cake

Thanks for your comment. Did you read the post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50