💜 A Tour of The Company Gardens with Princessmewmew 💜

in #travel6 years ago

cover.jpg

The Company Gardens in Central Cape Town is one of those places that you just can't miss when visiting Cape Town. It's something of a tourist rite, and I'm sure at the very top of every visitor to CT's To Do List. Even as a local, I love to visit the Gardens.

Located in the very centre of Cape Town, the Gardens span a large area of downtown Cape Town. I love to walk through the Gardens to get downtown, instead of driving or walking through the city. The Gardens are incredibly beautiful, filled with all kinds of fauna and flora. Squirrels, Egyptian geese, herons, tons of pigeons and all types of other creatures call these Gardens their home.

IMG_4881.jpg

geese.jpg

source

squirrel.jpg

source

albino.jpg

The Elusive Albino Squirrel - source

The Company's Garden has a very special place in the history of the Cape. The Garden is the oldest in the country, first built as Jan Van Riebeeck's vegetable garden in 1652. Ships from the Dutch East India Company passing through the trade route would stop at the Cape Town port to top up on fresh vegetables, water and other necessities. Thus named "The Company's Garden."

There are all kinds of historical landmarks in the Gardens, including South Africa's oldest pear tree, thought to have been planted around 1652, my favourite spot, the rose garden built in the 1930's, and many statues and monuments.

My favourite monument is the Rutherford Fountain, an understated temperance fountain which was built in 1864. The following words are etched at the bottom of the statue:

"Jesus said whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst But the water that I shall give him shall be in him as a well of that I shall give him shall never thirst water springing up into everlasting life"

And I just found in my research today:

A temperance fountain was a fountain that was set up, usually by a private benefactor, to encourage people not to drink beer by the provision of safe and free water. Beer was the main alternative to water, and generally safer. The temperance societies had no real alternative as tea and coffee were too expensive, so drinking fountains were very attractive.

source

rutherford .png

source

Other attractions in the park include an aviary, a fantastic restaurant, a herb garden, the amazing Planetarium, the Iziko South African Museum and the Iziko National Art Gallery. The museum, art gallery and planetarium are all musts in my book, especially the art gallery, as it showcases many local artists.

IMG_4855.jpg

The Iziko South African Museum

IMG_4864.jpg

The Peeking Roof of the Planetarium

IMG_4857.jpg

The Delville Wood Memorial, commemorating the South Africans that died in the First and Second World Wars.

IMG_4860.jpg

The Herb and Succulent Garden being overlooked by majestic Table Mountain.

It's a beautiful place, and I wouldn't miss it if I was planning a visit to Cape Town.

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

indeed it is a wonderful place. one day I belive I will pay a visit.
South Africa is indeed a lovely place to be.... Nice photos too

mew mew, I'm out

These are just beautiful. I am an avid gardener and do truly appreciate the beauty

Thank you my #steemsugar ! 💓💓🌺

I'm jealous of your beautiful blue sky!
I didn't even know that there were albinos squirrels. oO


hehehe look how slick your footer is! Yes, there is supposedly one single albino squirrel - I suspect there are a few.

I'm taking a plane soon. Wait me, Mumun.

Come and escape the snow!

No snow at all anymore :D

I miss so much the warm weather! Here in Poland is cold AF, so I'm enjoying even photos of beautiful weather! Great post @princessmewmew, have a beautiful Sunday 💕

thanks love, and you too!

Such a wonderful place. I'm impressed! Does the squirrel really that friendly?

Your post is very beautiful .
It is very fun to go to such places and play with animals is very beautiful. There is a moment of memorable moments of life,By visiting at such places, heart is feel very good and The brain becomes completely refreshing

Awesome post. I do love herb gardens. Will definitely visit cape town one day and check it out. Thanks @princessmewmew

Nice post!

I will keep watching your posts from now on.

I`m a new witness looking for voters, so I want to invite you to give me a vote for witness.

As a reward, I will make 10 random picks from my voters adn I willl giveaway 30 SBD to each.

Vote for me here by entering my username in the search box! / https://steemil.com/witness/@therealwolf/making-steem-greater-therealwolf-is-now-a-witness

Like this I can help you with more that one upvote, and you can help me ti obtain more blocks!

Thank you!

Vote

beautiful, it impresses the way in which in other countries they worry about conserving their public spaces. this does not happen in my country

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43