You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Soda on Independence Square

in #travel6 years ago

How humbling that must have been to know that a former President once mopped the floor where you walked. I would be curious to know what that young man thought of as he worked, if he ever had an inkling of what his future held in store. Or those around him, as they viewed him as did the grunt labor as they enjoyed their refreshments.

Looking forward to your post on the history as a launching pad. A little off topic but a great book you might enjoy is:

Year of Decision:1846. I was unable to put it down as the author gave life to the events, not a boring recitation of fact. You really got a feel for the personalities involved as events unfolded.

Sort:  

Thanks for the book recommendation. I will look it up and see if I can pick up a copy this week. If you like history with a bit of personality/fiction mixed in, try - The Killer Angels. One of my favorite books on the Civil War/Gettysburg. I will post some more about Independence, Missouri and Harry Truman (the man who dropped the bomb). His presidential library is about 1 mile from where I'm staying this week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44