@polebird: ๐Ÿ  Tales of my first dive and snorkeling the amazing Great Barrier Reef- Part 2 ๐Ÿ 

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Snorkeling and swimming amongst the fish is an amazing way to observe life under the sea. It was such a treat to have gotten to visit and swim at the Great Barrier Reef located off the coast of Cairns, Australia. The Great Barrier Reef is teeming with life. When I jumped into the water and got my first glimpse, I was absolutely blown away by the abundance of colorful inhabitants living at the outer reefs. This is part two of my underwater photography from my swim. If you missed part one, you can check it out here.

IMG_6223-2.jpg

I have no idea what species of fish these are, but they are so beautiful!
IMG_6005.jpg

IMG_6086.jpg

IMG_5969.jpg

IMG_6146-2.jpg

IMG_6183-2.jpg

We also signed up for our first dive ever. I didn't get certified, due to the issue of time. I still wanted to try diving, so we opted to do an intro dive. This consisted of a short presentation while we were on the boat and our instructor guiding us with hand signals as we descended down below the surface for the first time.

IMG_6140-2.jpg

It was a bit nerve wracking, but still a neat experience since you can explore the depths of the reef. The outer reef had some areas with huge drop offs and coral stacked upon coral. I was a bit nervous because the instructors made it quite clear that you must remember to keep breathing. Holding my breath is what I am used to underwater (trying NOT to drink and breathe sea water)- I've been swimming since I was little and was even on swim team, so it was hard to break the habit. I believe they said that if you hold your breath, you can mess up your lungs.

IMG_6189.jpg

I would love to possible take a longer lesson next time on diving because I really don't remember anything I was taught on the intro dive. Perhaps I would feel more comfortable and be able to continuing exploring the ocean via diving. It is a much different feel than snorkeling.

IMG_6193-2.jpg

IMG_6232-2.jpg

We even saw a sea turtle on the dive. Lucky us! :)
IMG_6270-2.jpg

Thanks for reading! Any steemians avid divers? Opinions on diving vs snorkeling or any tips on NOT holding your breath while diving?

Love,
Jess

Sort: ย 

TURTLE!

Hahaha, I love the photo of you and your husband waving so casually... so good!

The striped fish and the blue fishies look so good. I really want to try scuba diving, but I know it's going to absolutely freak me out for a bit. These photos are so great Jess, I won't lie.... little bit jelly.

Did you and Karen plan to post snorkling posts within 3 minutes of each other... or do you just have that special sister vibe?

hahaha thanks! I know right?? Turtley awesome!! heheh I hope to go back sometime, but yes scuba is a bit freaky and intimidating especially after I learned about the part where you MUST remember to continue to breathe!!! haha must be that special sis vibe :P I just saw her post, and she has even a similar cover photo haha!

one of my dreams places!!! i wish i could dive there !! till then i do this stuff in Mediterannean Sea. One tip. buy one mask with 180 dregrees view. it's ideal for snorkeling and allow you to breath naturally even on the mouth.
FHD0413.JPG

wowww that is very cool!!! I will definitely check it out :D Does the entire mask tend to fog?? haha sometimes I have issues with the mask fogging, even using some spit or antifog.

No problem with fog!! And for 20$ it s a good deal. :D

I like snorkeling @polebird but i have economic problems. ๐Ÿ˜ฃ. But i like swim. I like sea. Because i am brazilian. Thank you for your post.

Good luck for your steam ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am waiting for your support. For me last post ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thank you so much. Good evening ๐Ÿ˜Š

hehe thank you! swimming makes me happy too :)

Picture amazing where is that

great barrier reef!

I wish someday to have such an amaizing experience in my life. I think that every person should try diving at last once in life. I am really glad that you brake the rules and do what you love. I wish u more beautiful experiences like this in the future . โ˜บ๏ธ

hehe I hope you get to go diving as well! :) thank you so much for the kind words!

Love your photos seriously <3 @polebird

awww thank you so much! :)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Woow nice spot for snorkling ...
Maybe if you have time , time , your visit my country exactly at sabang or raja ampat in indonesia ...
Maybe you like ...

hehe thank you so much! :)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Your Welcome @polebird
๐Ÿ˜Š
Come to my account ..adn see it

OMG! I just went snorkeling! :)

omg hahaha i just saw your post cover!! woo hoo!!

Wow, i wish i could dive there

yeahh very cool dive site!

Fantastic underwater shots! What an adventure, thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much, happy to hear you liked it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51