Old Town San Diego, California (a simple date with my dad)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My father and I are never close. I grew up without him since I was 11 years old. I don't know how it feels like to have a man in the house because we lost contact for almost 14 years. Then one day, our house phone rang.

The man on other line: Hello? Who is this?
Me: Who are you? You're the one calling?
The man on other line:  Hello? Can I talk to your mum? Is this Thea?
Me: Yes. Who is this please?
The man on other line: This is your father.

I was stunned. I don't know what to say next. All I know is that this man is the reason why I got bullied a lot in school. Mean girls would teased me and asked where my father was. And I would tell them he is dead so they can shut up.

Growing up without a father is hard. That's why when I had the chance to see him again, I didn't think twice but forgave him. 

*****************************

Early this year, I went to the States to see him and his new family. They were pretty nice. They booked a five-star hotel for me for one week and treat me to nice restaurants and went shopping. His new wife urge us to visit the Old Town State Historic Park. 

She said I should spend quality time with my prodigal father. Lol! So I did. We went to this park where the crowd was mostly Mexican. Let me tell you my story in pictures...

This is a big wall at the entrance, a lot of tourists take their pictures here. Usually selfie-especially if you're asian lol.

It's close to a train station call Old Town. You can take this train going downtown.

Colorful Mexican ceramic pots in Old Village. I'm inlove with them! I wish I can take one with me but they are damn heavy. I don't have extra space for my luggage.

You can find other stuff there that are handmade and colorful. I like this place already. The Mexican guys at the shop are friendly too. :)

Candle dipping! You can make your own candles here. Pick a few colors and they will guide you on how to make some.

Bath salt that smells og so damn good! You can use it to exfoliate. Take those dead skin cells away honey!

I don't know why I took this pic. I think I just love the blue sky. :-)

Well's Fargo Museum. I opened a bank account with them when I was in LA. I didn't expect to see this museum in SD.

Surprise! Surpise! A real carriage! That's exactly the one in Well's Fargo logo.

An old man and his loyal dog.

Nice restaurant in Old Town, "nice" because of the pink flowers on top. :))

I dreamt about this place. I was looking at that exact image in my dream. It's weird. It's like de javu.

My mum's favorite, wind chimes! I wasn't able to buy one coz they are kinda pricey.

Mexican skull lady. Well, hello there! :-)

Today I learned that forgiving someone is not that hard. Especially when it's already been years. The pain washed away all the tears I cried without my dad. I am thankful that he is still alive and having fun in the US.

Dad, I know that you know that you are a wonderful human being. You are forgiven a long time ago. You said that you will make it up to us, you don't have to because you can't afford the car I want. Just kidding. Haha! Just make it up to us by being a great father to your other kids. Enjoy your day! Stay awesome! 

Sort:  

We should talk soon. Yes, you have a story and i knew it. Stay awesome! I forgive you for all you true lies

You didn't know it. You just found out just now. :-p

Hahaha, i mostly talk and relate better with people with stories. I knew from day one. From seeing your videos. There is a story to you!

I have a hundred stories to share with you. But I might bore you to death. :)

This post recieved a vote from @minnowpond. For more information click https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowpond/boost-your-rewards-with-minnowpond

This post recived a vote from @apsu. For more information click yourself.
It was nice to read such a story and it's nice to hear you had a good time :)

It's better to get a connection with your father late than never, especially if your father seems like a good person.

For more information click yourself.

lol funny guy!
Yup, better late than never right? Yeah, he used to be an ass but now, he's all matured so he changed. :-)

Hi @surpassinggoogle I'm really love this place. Wish I cant come here sometime... Please praying for me... Thanks 😉😊

Aw I ve been there just a couple weeks ago, I need to travel again

Your father is a lucky man to have a daughter like you 👏

Thanks mate! I hope he'll be proud of me when he sees me again next year. :-)

Congratulations @pinaynomad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post is so touching really at many levels ) the softly explained emotions, the truth of forgiveness and especially your clear widom and humour! So happy to share now your quirky veiw of the simple beauty and life moments that give us all hope to live and be happy still in this crazy mixed up world !! upvoted pinaynomad )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49