Visiting all over the Irish Cistercian monasteries (part 2)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Mount Melleray Abbey became my "mother" monastery, and later went back twice for visiting my old friends there, last time in 2002. Just recently found that they are facing serious issues 😞: http://www.irishexaminer.com/video/news/cistercian-monks-in-waterford-fighting-hard-for-a-future-449189.html
Monks number are down to 20, 2/3rd are over 80 years old. There were 150 monks in 1950!
So middle of January I went to a Benedictine monastery, Glenstal Abbey (Garranbane, Murroe, Co. Limerick) . The abbey is located in and beside Glenstal Castle, a Normanesque castle built by the Barrington family.
14.jpg

13.jpg
The monastery runs an all-boys boarding secondary school on its grounds, Glenstal Abbey School.
The guesthouse was like a 5 stars hotel here:
11.jpg
The monks were very friedly, I was eating with them in the refectory and praying with them in the beautiful churh 5 times a day.12.jpg
Here was the first time in my life to use the internet, I was emailing my brother to Hungary.
I really liked my one week staying here: lovely surraunding area, beautiful chants. The abbot took me to the oldest Irish pub near Glenstal Abbey in the same day I arrived:
15.jpg

Will continue, and don't forget that bitcoin is going to the moon!

Sort:  

Hi, piaristmonk! I just resteemed your post!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot.
If you want to know more about me, read my introduction post.
Good Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61968.29
ETH 2501.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66