Visit Scottish Highlands #2 - Ruins of Keiss Castle

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Welcome All!

In my second post of the series from Scotland - one more beautiful location where the main subject is castle, or rather ruins of a castle. Keiss Castle is situated by the eastern shores of Highlands in their northern part, near Caithness.

This 17th century castle was build on the very end of a cliff by the shores of Northern Sea. Today only one tower is visible, but the view is really epic!

<><><>

IMG_2497sm.jpg

<><><>

I visited this place for the first time this year. As You can see the weather conditions were good for sunbathing, not necessary for photographic purposes... but I tries to catch few different frames.

<><><>

IMG_2511sm.jpg

<><><>

From the car park nearby we have like 10 minutes walk by the shore line, where we can also find some interesting motives to shoot. I found this old concrete wall making nice line leading to the waters of the sea. I used vertical position of the camera to make a nice perspective and long time exposure to calm down wavy waters.

<><><>

IMG_2516sm.jpg

<><><>

Small sandy beach with the good view on the cliffs and lonely tower was the first stop on the way. I tried to find something interesting in the foreground to fill the frame and to compensate empty sky.

<><><>

IMG_2479sm.jpg

<><><>

Another nice thing we can find and shoot on the place are cliffs builds up by different layers of rocks. Together with the tower in back are quite nice frame to take.

<><><>

IMG_2498sm.jpg

<><><>

I was there in the late afternoon so the light was already warm and low. It was also not so strong luckily, so thanks to use of Neutral Density filter ND1000 (big stopper) I could go down with exposure time to 30 seconds. Thanks to this I was able to use the wavy water and create fog-like effect on the water.

<><><>

IMG_2514v2.jpg

<><><>

One more frame with beautiful cliff in front and distant view on the castle ruins. Just imagine the same place with different weather conditions like stormy clouds or some beautiful sunrise sky... Great potential and many possibilities. It is good to visit places like this in different time of the day and different seasons.

<><><>

IMG_2501sm.jpg

<><><>

Keiss Castle was one of many photo spots we planned to visit that day so we didn't have time to approach the tower closer. But in other hand, the tower seen from the cliffs above don't look so great, surrounding area is not so intersting to shoot so this small beach near the cliffs is the best spot there to watch the castle and take some photo shooting.

Thank You for watching and reading! I hope You like it! Wish You all good weekend and remember to go out, breath some air, gain some positive energy! Seeya!


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Remember that upvoting, resteeming and following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but also gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
More information About Me
Any questions or opinions - write a comment. Great thanks for supporting my work!

Sort:  

I've just got back from a few days to the Scottish Highlands, there is nowhere else like Scotland, I love it so much, this castle is amazing, I will have to go here!

Scotland have its unique magic, I was there many times already, part of my family lives in Inverness, but I am always so happy to go back there.

That's amazing, most my family live on the west coast so I have been to Inverness a lot, inf act I went there this week! I wish I was closer so I could just go there whenever I wanted!

Great post and awesome shots as usual... I'm planning a trip in Scotland, I'll check if I can include this place too :)

In the first place I recommend Isle of Skye for sure, but if You like shore-like views with high cliffs, northern parts of Scotland are the best! Good luck, If You have any questions just write. Have a good day!

I love those glossy pebbles! And that castle is incredibly placed....

True, the place has amazing photo-potential. Thanks for comment!

Hey @photovisions!
A link to this post has been featured in today's "W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit", where 100% of the SBD earned from the post is paid to the 5 featured photographers. Click here to see the post.

Very big thanks for support and promotion of my work :D.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55