Breathtaking street art of Holbox Island: part 1

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

After showing you the astonishing natural beauty of the Mexican island of Holbox in this post last week, I am here with another post dedicated to this extraordinary place. This time around, I will introduce you to another thing that Holbox is famous for and that is incredible street art.

If you read my previous post about Holbox, you might remember that local streets are actually more of just sandy pathways as they are not paved and cars are still not allowed on the island and yet, it was here where I admired some of the most amazing pieces of street art that I have ever seen.

I am not really sure why so many graffiti artists picked this little, still largely undiscovered island as the canvas for their masterpieces but the fact is you can find some impressive street art on literally every other house and wall all over the town. Although the built-up part of the island is still totally insignificant (fortunately!) compared to its total area, I am pretty confident there are hundreds of stunning street art works to be found and admired there. As always, I was much more interested in the natural beauty of the place than in its urban parts but I still had to dedicate some time to exploring the streets and checking out some of the murals because they really were admirable.

After some editing, I picked 26 photos featuring the gorgeously vivid Holbox street art. Not to overwhelm you with all the colors though, I decided to split the photo collection into two parts, each featuring 13 photos. Here is the first part.


1.jpg


2.jpg


3.jpg


4.jpg


5.jpg


6.jpg


7.jpg


8.jpg


9.jpg


10.jpg


11.jpg


12.jpg


13.jpg


I hope you enjoyed these beautiful street art pieces. If you did, stay tuned for the second part of this special collection that will be posted here on my blog next Tuesday ;)


Note: The house depicted in the last photo (Casa Ohana) is where we stayed on Holbox. Highly recommended! You can find it on AirBnb here.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

I always look for street art whenever I go traveling! It tells so much about local artists, ideas, even politics. My favourite series is still the one I made in Red Hook, Brooklyn, as it was both gorgeous and shared local/global stories.

The ones you're showing here are super - so colourful but also a lot of detail and no generic graffiti! I especially like the plates at the beach! Looking forward to Part II :-)

Oh yeah, street art can tell you a lot about the place, local people and their culture and history. Here in Mexico (and Latin America in general) street art is usually super vivid and colorful. Here is a little sample from our city Playa del Carmen.

Your series from Brooklyn is very different in style but I love it! This Swoon is a very talented guy :) Thanks for sharing his art works with us Rosa!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #493.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Awesome! Thank you guys :)

Man that's street art at its finest. Would love to see it on my own one day. Great shots of the art btw ! I like the composition!

Thank you so much buddy! Means a lot coming from you :) Well, Mexico (and Latin America in general) is full of beautiful, vivid street art. I am sure you will see it for yourself one day too ;)

I do and I will! I can't wait to discover it on my own! :))

I love the arts, they are so beautiful. This place is so colorful, must be a fun place too. I can't even pick a favorite art

Thanks for this nice comment :) Yeah, they are all very impressive but my favorite is the portrait of the little girl that I used as the thumbnail too :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=breathtaking-street-art-of-holbox-island-part-1


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @smeralda and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

This post has received a 20.55 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92