Visiting Gold Coast Australia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Dear Stemmians

In this post I am writing about Gold Coast my first stop in Queensland. It is considered as one of the most important tourists destination in whole Australia. Well I was in July it was supposed to be the lowest and coldest-season. but I found attractive with a sunny weather.

CIMG0998.JPG

Actually is a long strip of coast full of beaches with skyscrapers. Among this group of buidings, in 2011 the Q1 (Queensland number one)Tower has been considered the highest residential one in the world. Popular in whole Australia is the nightlife of Gold Coast in particular during the high season.

CIMG1001.JPG


(Hard Rock cafe Surfers Paradise)

CIMG0989.JPG
(Surfers paradise provide also this type of alternative transport )

Gold Coast is also a centre of entertainement and one of the most important centre of movie production in Australia. Also some American movies (or just a part of them)were shooted in this area.

CIMG0996.JPG

A popular example is the movie Pirates of Caribbean Dead men no tales (one of my favorite movies).To be honest I do not exactly where because I discovered this information after leaving this city. Well the others movies Pirates of Carribbean were shooted in other part of Queensland (For example between Whitsundays and Hamilton Island)

CIMG0994.JPG

According to some Australian people I met, the American movie companies film in Australia if compare to Usa they have lower costs of production and taxes . I am not sure about that. I just report the information I heard.
Anyway keep talking about Gold Coast .... It will host the XXI Commonwealth games in April of this year. Actually the countdown already began when I had been in this city.

I am glad to share part of my experience in Australia. Hope you like it Please feel free to see also my previous post about Australia.

Thanks for your attention

Sort:  

Thanks Phil for your post about Queensland. It is truly one of the most popular tourist destinations in Australia, we haven't been, but every friend that goes to Australia ends up in Queensland one way or another.
Good to know that we shouldn't visit it in 2018 when the Commonwealth Games are on as it will be super crowded and expensive.

Hi again Phil! Cool to see this since we just did a drive-through when we were staying a bit south in a caravan park - but we did get to see a surfing competition at Snapper Rocks, and I got some good long-distance shots of Surfers Paradise. You may have seen the post already but some of your readers might be interested: https://steemit.com/travel/@brightongreg/australia-16-the-gold-coast-queensland

Safe travels!

Hi again! Where have you been up recently ? I have not any information or comment of you since long time Hope you're doing well. Thanks for your comment and your link I am glad you had also a good experience around Gold Coast and Queensland. Anyway I am not good at surfing :) :)

I got distracted by many things after finishing my Tahiti-Oz-NZ posts (also could have been burnt out by doing all of them lol!) so was away from steem for a while. We should be in Portugal this year and I'd have a lot of content to post, but my wife has had some back issues, getting better now, but 7 hours on a plane was not something she could do. Hopefully next year we will get back to our escape from Canadian winter! When the weather gets a bit better here I will try to post more original stuff.

I see I probably will come to Canada in the next months not sure yet. Hope you will travel again soon

Can't remember with all your traveling if you've been here, regardless if you need some advice on where to go give me a shout!

it will be my first time in North America. Thanks for your availability giving some advice Keep in touch

How is the weather now? is it summertime?

That was during the month of July it is considered the "coldest season". Queensland has a subtropical climate that is the reason why I was with only T-shirt during the day and a jumper during the night

Hi @philfreetotravel, thank you so much for this quick tour on Gold Coast. I have a freelance job after my 9-5 work and I used to have a client from Gold Coast. I always roam around this place via Google Maps. Thanks for sharing

You're welcome thanks for your comment

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Looks like a great place! Even if I won't visit this place in 2018, for sure it going on my bucket list :)

Thanks for your comment hope you will visit Queensland in the future

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=philfreetotravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visiting-gold-coast-australia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45