You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canadian Rockies: Another Adventure begins in Banff National Park

in #travel5 years ago

Good, you stopped in order to let them cross the road. I heard that there are many and some were died crossing the road. In particular during the winter season when the roads have some salt. When I was in Algonquin Park a couple of weeks ago I have seen neither mooses nor deers on the way

Sort:  

Awwe, poor animals, I wish people were in less of a rush and more careful. I feel bad when I step on a bug! They like to lick the salt on the road. We always stop for them, we were even watching the road for toads! lol. It's their home we visit after all.

No way! No deer! That's disappointing, it's always more fun with at least one or 2 sightings(Jasper is really good for lots of wildlife sightings compared to Banff). I never seen a moose in Banff or Jasper yet, I used to see them all the time in New-Brunswick but they seem to hide here. We saw a couple of deer and an elk wandering right in the middle of downtown Banff, it was kinda neat, didn't have a chance to get my camera out tho.

I thought in Jasper and Banff there were mooses too. Hope to see some of them before leaving Canada (elks as well). Meanwhile, I am glad because I have seen black squirrels (we do not have in Europe).

They do have moose but not in great numbers, they are good at hiding. I have seen them on couple of occasion at Elk Island National Park near Edmonton but too far in the woods to get a clear picture. There is many many Elks here especially in Jasper National Park. Will you be visiting western Canada before leaving?

To be honest I am not sure. My visa will expire in less than three months. This is the agreement between my country and Canada. Six months is nothing for a large country like Canada.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71