8 places in Sardinia you must see

in #travel7 years ago

After two expeditions to Sardinia I chose my absolutely favorite places - it is necessary to see...
Since my two trips to Sardinia I most often get questions about what to see the most on this island. That is why I will answer them today on the blog.
Keep in mind that I was not in the north of the island, and there are certainly some fascinating places to go. This is to be, as always, my subjective list - so we are going.

Gulf of Orosei
Due to its beaches, it is one of the most popular places to spend your holiday in Sardinia, so I did not like it, of course, but I am aware that I do not know the rest of the world, as it is beautiful.

IMGP2046.jpgIMGP2118.jpg

Alghero and Capo Caccia
Alghero is the second most popular city in Sardinia, so it is better to avoid it in high season. However, it is worth to go to see the fortifications that lie just above the sea. Near the town is the Caccia peninsula, which I liked about via ferrata del cabirol. If, however, hanging over a 200 meter gap is not your fairy tale, then go to the fascinating Neptune cave.
In the area there are many other interesting places, such as the dunes: Palmavera and Anghelu Ruju (with fairy tombs). Even without a car you can spend a few days there and do not get bored.

IMGP1431.jpgIMGP1465.jpgIMGP1501.jpgIMGP1712.jpg

Sinis Peninsula
This is a pretty popular place in high season because of its quartz beaches with very fine sand. There is also a protected area, with many rare birds and fish. Perfect for a quiet holiday.

IMGP1131.jpgIMGP1183.jpg

Su Gorroppu gorge
Its depth reaches 500 meters, making it one of the deepest in Europe. I liked much more than Tara Canyon, because it is very narrow and the walls go from the bottom practically vertically. We had a very gloomy weather, so I almost believed in the legend that the devil lived there.

IMGP2421-490x672.jpg

Nuragic
Nuragi is a megalithic structure that dates back as many as 4,000 years, so visiting at least one guided complex is an absolute must in Sardinia. It is possible during this trip to learn many fascinating curiosities about this mysterious, prehistoric civilization. Such stone buildings are nowhere else, so they have become a symbol of the island.
The most famous ones are Su Nuraxi in Barumini, near Cagliari.

IMGP1368.jpg

Golgo Plateau
Golgo is home to the most famous Sardinian beaches: Cala Goloritze and Cala Sisine. On the plateau also there are interesting places, such as the world's largest hole called Su Sterru, San Pietro church, natural swimming pools and ... pastures for animals, especially donkeys and wild pigs.

IMGP2230-490x672.jpgIMGP5198.jpg

Orgosolo
It is famous for its mural. Paintings touch on social, political and historical issues - this is a phenomenon never seen anywhere else in the world on a scale like this. It is also worth visiting because the inhabitants of the city are Native Sardinian, not the Italians, as in most of the coastal towns.

IMGP1915.jpg

Cala Goloritze
Anyone who knows me knows I consider Cala Goloritze the best place I've ever been. It was hard for me to believe that water could have such a fantastic color (I had a theory that the Sardinian authorities specially colored the water for turquoise).

IMGP2273.jpgIMGP2255.jpg

Sort:  

looks absolutely stunning, wonderful photos!

incredible! have you been to bosa and capo testa? they are both very nice places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65687.24
ETH 3269.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69