Part 2 Of a philosophical walk along the Southwest coastal path (Told with original words & pictures)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Join me for part two of my walk along the breathtaking Southwest Coastal Path, told in original words, pictures and philosophy.

DSCF4236.JPG

Copy of DSCF2099.JPG

So today I'm setting off from the beautiful fishing village of Clovelly on the north Devon coast. This picture postcard village is as beautiful as it's unique, a place frozen in time and a glimpse of a bygon era. For starters there are no cars! the cobbled streets of yesteryear tumble steeply down past 16th century fisherman's cottages, each one oozing character and history. The high street then drops steeply for over 400 feet and eventually opens out at a beautiful deep blue fisherman's harbour (which is still in use). As mentioned previously and in order to preserve the atmosphere of the village no cars are allowed along this high street. No holiday houses are allowed in the village and any house removals or deliveries have to be carried in and out with a sledge!

Clovelly 3.jpg

The village can get pretty busy during the summer months but within minutes I'm back on the coastal path and again whisked away into a land of beauty and tranquility. This particular section is noted for it's coastal woodland and deep wooded coombes, but there are still lots of openings to enjoy the stunning views across to Lundy Island. The island itself is a magical place, with some of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. I shall leave further description and indeed pictures of Lundy until I return from a camping trip over the Summer.

Now I've left civilisation behind I follow this stunning woodland path as it hugs the dramatic coastline.

DSCF4269.JPG

As I continue along this winding pathway I begin to think of words of wisdom I've been given over the years. Some words stand the test of time whilst others have been scattered by the sands of time. But you know, from my perspective of life no thought is lost and no idea will be blown away by the winds of change. Everything that we are and everything that we feel, feeds back into the collective pool of human consciousness, so be mindful of your thoughts.

Time to enjoy the view

DSCF4240.JPG

DSCF4241.JPG

The enchantingly delicate balance of creation plays out in front of me with all the drama of a Shakesperian masterpiece. I think about the finely tuned nature of the cycle of life and how each animal, each plant and even each microbe has it's own unique role to play. I see the drama and balance of both predator and prey and understand that we are the living embodiment of every polarity, every birth and destruction since the dawn of the universe. The difference being is that we have the option of expressing, indeed becoming the polarity of our choice.

Time to stop for a bite to eat

DSCF4257.JPG

The picture above is taken at Mouthmill Beach and the arch is called Blackchurch Rock. Due to treacherous sailing conditions this particular stretch of coastline is also known as the iron coast. A name hard won in the deaths of many a sailor and indeed the wreck of many a ship. The entire Southwest path is an ancient network of paths used by coastguards, lighthouse keepers and indeed smugglers! Today we are lucky enough to arrive at this beautifully remote spot in near perfect weather. On this hot day the cool breeze greets us like a long lost friend and the clouds above are little more than whisps of chaotic beauty.

DSCF4262.JPG

And so my friends, my journey for today has come to an end. I'm going to chill out at this beautiful beach for a couple of hours and then wind my way up away from the coast and back to the comfort of my waiting car. I will be continuing my journey along this stunning coastline throughout the Summer and would love for you to join me. In the meantime I will leave you with a couple more pictures from a serene and beautiful day spent amongst the majesty of nature.

DSCF4252.JPG

DSCF4266.JPG

Original words by perceptualflaws 19/6/2017
Apart from the one below all pictures are original and taken by perceptualflaws
The Clovelly street scene is a picture called Clovelly Cobbles taken by holidaycottages.co.uk
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Please take some time to check out the brilliant minnowsupportproject. And if you want the opportunity to win an all expenses paid trip to Steemfest then just click on the link below for details on how to join the project and enter the competition:

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@perceptualflaws/shout-to-all-minnows-join-us-at-the-minnowsupportproject-get-your-voice-heard-and-win-a-trip-to-steemfest

Minnow5.gif

If you've enjoyed this post then please feel free to check out part one below:

https://steemit.com/travel/@perceptualflaws/a-philosophical-walk-along-southcoast-path

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Love the pics, from the greenery to the cozy-looking town to the clear waters. That's what travel is all about!

@howtostartablog Sorry I must have missed your kind comment yesterday. I'm really glad you enjoyed the post, it was a beautiful day and I'm glad that came across.

Lovely post, a real relaxing read. You have a way with words..

@clintjunior Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, it's much appreciated and I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

How completely enjoyable! Thank you so much for sharing this, it was really pleasant to just enjoy the landscape :-)

@steampunk-penny Thanks for leaving such kind comments and I'm really glad you enjoyed it .. was a beautiful day and I'm glad that came across.

That is a truly beautiful piece buddy. I don't know how but I missed the first piece but I will go and read now.
Please drop the series as you do it in my PM so I don't miss it.
Thanks again. TP

Thanks for saying so @tremendospercy and thanks for giving me a shout last night, it's really appreciated. You're a top man! another scorcher out there today, hope it's a good one for you.

Nice post

Follow me

Oh, you do, great!

Now then, to your post. I really felt like I was along on your walk. So tranquil, lovely scenery. Where are the toilets though? Are we there yet? What did I step in...? Oh my GOD! Can we take the bus next time?

Seriously though, nice post

@gmuxx Haha thanks for taking the time to leave such kind comments my friend and thanks a million for the resteem! it's hugely appreciated. I'm normally hit with at least three of those questions, but everyone was well behaved on that day :)

Great pics! That tide pool reminds me of when I was a boy looking for crabs in Devon.

@jameshsmitharts Thanks for taking the time to comment my friend, it's much appreciated. I did manage to find one deep enough to swim in, but that wouldn't have made such a nice picture :)

No problem, photography is one of my favorite things on Steemit :) Keep it coming.

Best adventures are with our dogs!! :D Awesome post and killer shots! Thanks for sharing!!

Thanks for your kind comment it's much appreciated and I'm really glad you've enjoyed the series thus far.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. You're certainly right, I've had many an adventure (and occasional misadventure :D ) with these dogs, and hopefully many more to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65422.12
ETH 3433.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31