A Philosophical Walk Along The Southcoast PathsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Join me on a beautiful walk among stunning scenary told with original pictures, words/philosophy and video

DSC03894.JPG

Firstly I shall add a little preface, I'm walking along the beautiful southwest coastal path on the Hartland Peninsula (in Devon) which is not too far from the Cornish borders. With 630 miles of stunning vistas, hidden coves, sub tropical woodland creeks and pristine coastline it's easy to see why the southwest coastal path is recognised as one of the best long distance trails in the world.

But to get to the coast itself we first have to walk through this glorious woodland

DSCF4088.JPG

DSC03857.JPG

It's interesting to note that 450 miles of this breathtaking 630 mile coastal route will take you through not only stunning but also highly protected landscapes. You will walk through a national park, a UNESCO biosphere reserve, two world heritage sites and five areas of outstanding natural beauty! A leisurely walker will take approx 7-8 weeks to complete the route, although the record is eleven days .. phew!

And we're at the beach, shame not to stop for a bite to eat!

DSC03866.JPG

As I continue wandering along the winding coastal path discovering beauty and majesty at every turn, the polarities of life are never more accute. The visual splender of creation unfolding around me once again free's my mind from the constraints and time schedules placed upon us throughout our lives. To me they are an invisable prison wall between higher states of conciousness and deeper levels of creativity.

Time for another picture

DSCF4108.JPG

At one with the splender of the natural order I begin to think about how simple life could be. Every pressure, stress, anger and frustration all come from within whilst the cycle of life evolves all around us, perhaps it's our disconnection from this cycle that brings us to this difficult moment in time/history.

DSC03897.JPG

We have now arrived at our destination Spekes Mill, which is the highest waterfall in Devon and feeds down into the sea. The dogs seem to like it!

DSC03909.JPG

DSC03912.JPG

And that my friends is where my journey ends for this week. I will be continuing my travels along another section of this stunningly diverse and beautiful trail same time next week and I hope you join me for more facts, pictures and musings. For now I'll leave you with a video from those good folks at the National Trust, enjoy.

Words and pictures by perceptualflaws 08/6/2017
Video courtesy of the National Trust

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly and humbly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

Sort:  

nice photos and post.

@rangertx Thanks for saying so and thanks for taking the time to write a comment, it's much appreciated and I'm really glad you enjoyed the post.

Awesome, thank you for this amazing post! :)

@berlinmoonlight Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such kind comments, it's greatly appreciated.

@supertraff Many thanks for taking the time to comment my friend, it's greatly appreciated. I'm humbled you'd consider the photo's worthy so I'll certainly check it out ..many thanks.

I'm very glad your taking time to check my post out 😊

So beautiful and just the mini-vacation I needed this morning!

@eyeofthestorm Thanks for taking the time to comment my friend. It sure is a beautiful part of the world and one I head to often in order to put life into perspective.

Thank you for taking me on this journey with you, it is surely a beautiful place to enjoy!

@sunscape I'm really glad you enjoyed the journey and thanks so much for taking the time to comment. It's a beautiful place that makes me yearn for a simpler life, yet I feel privileged to be able to walk it.

We can make our lives simpler day by day, moment by moment no matter where we are. Just be satisfied wherever you are. That is life!

Oh yes I completely agree, my life is as simple as I want it and I try to rise above every trouble that comes my way. I was musing on the world unfolding around me, myself I'm very happy because that's the choice I've made. Life is a perception but that's the next part of my journey so I've saved those words for next week. Hope you have a lovely weekend to look forward to my friend.

good for you, I can hardly wait for your next post.
We truly are choosing to have a wonderful experience.

The coasts of England, Ireland and Scotland are all just so beautiful to me! I feel like if I ever had the chance to visit and experience it first hand my mind would explode :D Very nice pictures! Thanks for sharing :)

@goldenroom Thanks for your kind comments it's much appreciated. I'm in complete agreement, I used to live in the far north of Scotland (Assynt & the Summer Isles) and the coast there is also stunning. I have loads of pictures, unfortunately none are digital but I'm planning a trip back soon and will load some as soon as I can.

Well, I'll keep a lookout :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16