PAPA TRAVELS - CAVE POINT COUNTY PARK IN DOOR COUNTY

in #travel7 years ago

Now this is a park!


Personally, I would call this a must see for anyone checking out the Door County, WI area. However, this part is also easy to miss.

A lot of the parks that I went to growing up were county parks. These are the local parks ran by the county that they are in, rather than by the state or nation. Everyone hears about national parks, and state parks get a lot of recognition and interest too, but county parks can be overlooked. Even this one is right next door to Whitefish Dunes State Park.

In the lower right corner of the photo above you can make out the "Whitefish Dunes State Park" sign. Even though I was born just south of here and lived in Wisconsin for most of my life, "Cave Point County Park" was not a recognizable name, although "Whitefish Dunes" was.

Even though the park may not get as much interest as it could, it is still a park worthy of requiring this sign!

FOR THE #VIDEO FOLKS, WAIT NO LONGER!

CAVE POINT PARK

Cave Point County Park is located on the shore of Lake Michigan in Door County, WI just south of Jacksonport. It just off of Highway 57, and is well worth the trip.

The signs about how dangerous it is are due to the cliffs along the shoreline. With no fences or guardrails, you can walk right up to the edge and admire the water below.

Many of the cliffs actually have small caves in them, so in some parts, you are actually standing over a hollow cave with water in the bottom of it.

You can see a small cave in this photo. I was thinking about taking some kayaks down there to check it out from a different angle. We will have to see if we can get down there that way.

A TROPICAL PARADISE?

One thing that really impressed me was the water color too. In many of the places it was a light blue-green and looked like something out of the Caribbean.

I half expected to see a dolphin or something. It was very interesting and very inviting to view this water. The cliffs were amazing and the water was excellent! What more could you ask for?

If the air and water would have been a little warmer, I could have almost thought that we were somewhere in the Caribbean... although one can still dream.

FAMILY FUN

I climbed around to explore a bit more, as did the rest of the family. The @little-peppers enjoyed their time with @grandpa-pepper too!

Since children are supposed to be supervised, we figured that we might as well just hold hands with them most of the time. We climbed, looked, wandered, and enjoyed the park for quite a while. Rumor has it that I once came here as a little man, but I only remember seeing the photo for the most part.

Eventually we wandered down to a different part a little further North, where we saw a most peculiar thing. I did a whole photo shoot of the area for an upcoming post, so for now I will just share a video for whoever is interested.

A very interesting thing to behold indeed. I wonder what it all means?

CLIFF JUMPING???

As we were about to leave and head back to the condo, something interesting began to happen. The little blue-green lagoon with overhanging cave became a point of interest for some young people (Man do I sound old writing that!).

The blur in the top center and slightly left in that photo is a kid. The kid is jumping off the cliff and into Lake Michigan.

Here he is making a splash. In total about four kids spent some time jumping off of the cliff. I am not even sure if it is legal, but it is what they were doing anyway. At least no one got hurt.

As I said when I linked the second video, I did a photo shoot of some interesting stuff here too, so keep an eye out for that. Otherwise, if you are ever in the area, why not stop in here and check it out?


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-cave-point-county-park



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

The park looks like a blast. Those rock piles are incredible. Now I am super curious--who started that? I just barely got back from Bryce Canyon National Park and now I want to go back and start a rock stacking craze.

Not sure, but I have some amazing photos to share later. We want to build some on our land now too.

So beautiful place..... Happy trip 👍

WOW !!!! Amazing place !!! I like the cliff jump especially : ) Pics are nicely captured. Looking forward to see more awesome places !!!

We are going to check out more in the area. I'll keep you posted.

That small lake from the sea is very refreshing and relaxing. I would love to swim on that fresh water @papa-pepper

Great place
Thanks for sharing

I remember cliff diving as a teenager in high school. It just felt like we were doing something rebellious even though it was only about 15 feet up. Did you see much wildlife on your trip through?

Beautiful! Keep up the great work. I have up voted this and would follow your work in future. Do follow me and check out my blogs, you might like it :)

Good post keeps uploading material like this you have a new follower and my upvote, help me with an upvote if you can

Its look scarry the cave going down... and really amazing that your kids did not afraid to jump! The water so clear! And i thinks it was cold water also... what is inside the cave @papa-pepper?

Other children, not my kids jumping.

Cold water though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66