DID YOU KNOW? - THERE ARE ONE-LANE BRIDGES IN THE USA?

in #travel7 years ago

Can you believe that these exist?


I’m not sure how many of you are familiar with these, but I’ve seen a few this year. Prior to that, I was completely unaware of the concept, much less the reality of one-lane bridges.

Travelling through the Ozark Mountains in Southern Missouri with @bluerthangreen earlier this year, we came upon the first one-lane bridge that I had ever seen. Out of nowhere there was some sort of “yield to oncoming traffic” sign and then the road went from two lanes down to one across the bridge.

I can’t say for sure whether or not @bluerthangreen had seen one of these before, but my mind was somewhat blown. In this day and age, it seemed like a very dangerous situation for the “modern drivers” to be in.

More and more often it seems that people are paying less and less attention when they are behind the wheel, so I was a little surprised to see such a thing.

I have seen about four or five of these one-lane bridges so far. All of them were either in southern Missouri or northern Arkansas, in the Ozark Mountains. Is anyone aware or them being anywhere else in the United States or in the world?

You’ve got to admit, they do seem a little strange and perhaps even dangerous. Thankfully, each time that we have encountered them, there were either no other drivers around or people were paying attention.

That does look like a pretty quick bottleneck, but it seems that the roads where we have seen these are not quite as frequently travelled as some others, otherwise that could be a disaster.

Have any of you ever seen these before? If so, how did you respond the first time that you encountered one? Is this a completely new idea for some of you out there?

I think that they are interesting, and was not aware of them until earlier this year, so I hope that you enjoy me sharing about them!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-one-lane-bridge



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

From reading the comments it looks like they are all over the place. I know of several all over Indiana, especially southern Indiana where I live now. There is actually a covered bridge festival every year in the area where there are dozens of covered bridges in a very small area, most of which are only one lane. There are also a lot of rural gravel roads that are only wide enough for one vehicle but are for traffic in both directions. when you come across someone coming from the opposite direction you just kind pull half way off the road and drive by each other. Most of the time there isn't much traffic anyway. Thanks for sharing

This is what happens when you're driving towards a one lane bridge:

There's quite a few of these in the rural parts of the UK. We're more used to narrow roads and queueing, so I guess it never struck me as strange 😊

I have never seen a one lane bridge lol?!?! This had to be built prior to the 1920's without code enforcement or something. We could never build like that now because of people texting and driving:/

When that bridge was built they didn't have texting and driving....They had more like this lol...

^^UPVOTED^^

not very rear here in Nigerian...but its mostly at suburbans....@papa-pepper,always on adventure..

We have them often out here in Idaho. Mostly up in the mountains But I know several out in the dessert that go over dry washes. the vehicle that gets to the bridge second must wait until the first vehicle gets off the bridge.

Interesting. I was in Idaho years ago but never encountered any. Thanks!

If you ever make it back I'll buy the coffee.

Same in Missouri.

lol the pic was taken in Southern Missouri in the Ozarks.

I know, I read the post. I've actually been across that exact bridge a few times in my life.

I was just stating that they're common all over Missouri, and pointing out that I live farther north in the state, meaning my experience wasn't solely based on southern Missouri, the area where this photo was taken.

What is so strange about them? It is the logical way to use at an small or less-traveled road in the mountains.

Most old (read: stone from the middle ages) bridges are too small or not stable enough to allow more then one lane traffic, too.
Here I have something for you, I think that tops even the covered bridges ;)


Wikipedia

This is what we now call a "flood bridge". As you can see it is one of the old stone ones, arching above a meadow.
WTF?? right?

In earlier times the river was there, but now no longer. Still if there is a flood, part of the river goes to the old bed and then this bridge (which con only be used one way because of size) is the only way to go.

The street on the other side of the bridge cannot be used then because of the water.

I'm from Canada...we have those two. Rare!...but definitely out there.
We also have one-lane highways...so all there is between you and the oncoming traffic is a painted, dotted line. Scary!...leads to lots of deaths every year!

Oh no, lots of deaths every year? That sounds horrible!

It's about the dumbest setup you could possibly think of. Ironically, there is a very popular lake where I am from that has one main road leading to it....the whole thing is a one way highway. So add some teenagers and the weekend to the mix...and you've got a real dicey drive for an hour! Ha.

There are a few around still. Gotta stay alert when behind the wheel. Nice post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44